We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sophia b

Not satisfied with my stay.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2023
Did not receive the bond money back when I was told ( full refund) that the funds were refunded. I rang multiple times and had no help whatsoever. I was Kept getting put on hold. Won’t be coming back here again.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lagoon
AU$346
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$275
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Doubletree
0.8 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free parking
Pool
AU$297
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$298
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Pool
Room service
Cabin with one queen bed
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free parking
Pool
The Smith Hotel Darwin
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$213
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
0.7 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Pool
Restaurant
Hero Shot
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$305
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$348
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$267
  • AdinaHotels.com
    AU$286
1.7 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
13
40
50
33
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
40
50
33
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub attached ve stayed here decent size pool area is easy walk upgrades
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2023

We got asked to pay an extra $100 at the desk upon check in so that they can hold our card in case of room damages. We checked out on a Monday morning and got told that the $100 would be back by Tuesday as Monday was a public holiday. After days of not having this money back we called only to get told that it actually takes 10 days to go back into our account, which is very different to what we got told upon check out. We understand having to keep a card on file to cover any room damages etc but blatantly lying to guests is not great, if we had of known this prior to booking we would not have stayed here as $100 is a lot to lose on a holiday. customer service said there is nothing they would do as they never took our money from our account and released it when they promised, but they didn’t explain that the turn around is actually a full 10 days. Every other hotel I’ve stayed at has only ever charged a $1 card holding fee.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2022 via mobile

Ok so this hotel is not romantic and is dated. But if you’re not expecting too much it’s fine. This time the aircon in my room was dripping water so they moved me.
I’ve stayed here a lot and I believe it should be cheaper, but it’s ok. Free parking, good Aussie pub downstairs and you can grab a scooter and ride into town.
Compare prices to other nearby hotels and you’ll soon see it’s on the cheaper side, so unfair to compare with 4-5star in a bigger price bracket.
In peak season nothing is cheap in Darwin.

Room tip: Avoid ground floor as the carpark looks straight into your window.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JeffS758
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2022

Hi Jeff,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are sorry to hear about the aircon, however glad that the team addressed this quickly and moved you to a new room. We are pleased that you enjoy staying with us, and value the location and hotel amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2022

Booked this for its proximity to the Botanic Gardens and museum. Did NOT know about the topless barmaids and yahoos in the bar. Aircon worked well but rooms are run down and need a thorough clean. Cracked and broken tiles in the bathroom, paint chipped in the main room. Carpet was very worn. Mattress was saggy and pillows are flat. Very noisy with people coming and going in the corridor at night.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2022

Dear Oldson1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an enjoyable guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We appreciate your detailed feedback, and we will address these items with the team.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Went there with my partner for a romantic stay. Hotel was:
*Unclean
*In need of repair and Maintance
*No security at night - anyone off the street could enter the hotel and have full access to rooms on all floors, by simply using the unlocked and open door in the bar downstairs - this means that drunk patrons from the bar could have easy access to all areas of the hotel afterhours - my partner felt unsafe there at night.
*Went downstairs with my partner for dinner - was not told that downstairs bar/restaurant is a topless bar on certain evenings - Would have been extremely embarrassing and disturbing if there with parents/ family/kids - as it was, we ordered takeaways, and went back to our room.
*Noise from the bar downstairs kept us awake during the night
*Not enough lighting in the room - dark even when all lights on at night
*Room not cleaned or rubbish removed everyday
*Cost was $280 per night - was worth less than $50 per night
* Have since been told by thers, that they too had similar experiences at the hotel and that they felt mislead by the advertising.

Room tip: Do not book - you will be wasting your money.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KamBen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Dear Kam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we certainly do not intend to mislead guests. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an enjoyable guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will address the items that are within our control, and we thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

Long walk to town but close to the botanic gardens. Rooms could use an update but sit outside at the pool. Loud live. Suicidal on weekends. Laundry room and well center. Overall a bit overpriced for the location.

Date of stay: August 2022
Thank tikaneve2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2022

Hi tikaneve,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in Darwin and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews