We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel
AU$100
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
AU$100
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
StayForLong
AU$102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
13
39
50
33
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
39
50
33
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub attached ve stayed here decent size pool area is easy walk upgrades
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Went there with my partner for a romantic stay. Hotel was:
*Unclean
*In need of repair and Maintance
*No security at night - anyone off the street could enter the hotel and have full access to rooms on all floors, by simply using the unlocked and open door in the bar downstairs - this means that drunk patrons from the bar could have easy access to all areas of the hotel afterhours - my partner felt unsafe there at night.
*Went downstairs with my partner for dinner - was not told that downstairs bar/restaurant is a topless bar on certain evenings - Would have been extremely embarrassing and disturbing if there with parents/ family/kids - as it was, we ordered takeaways, and went back to our room.
*Noise from the bar downstairs kept us awake during the night
*Not enough lighting in the room - dark even when all lights on at night
*Room not cleaned or rubbish removed everyday
*Cost was $280 per night - was worth less than $50 per night
* Have since been told by thers, that they too had similar experiences at the hotel and that they felt mislead by the advertising.

Room tip: Do not book - you will be wasting your money.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KamBen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Dear Kam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we certainly do not intend to mislead guests. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an enjoyable guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will address the items that are within our control, and we thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

Long walk to town but close to the botanic gardens. Rooms could use an update but sit outside at the pool. Loud live. Suicidal on weekends. Laundry room and well center. Overall a bit overpriced for the location.

Date of stay: August 2022
Thank tikaneve2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2022

Hi tikaneve,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in Darwin and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

Spacious room advertised is small. Breakfast buffet advertised does not exist & nowhere close to get it as it’s a fair walk into town.No microwave or hairdryer one mirror in the bathroom so only one person can get ready at a time.No fan in the bathroom so mirror gets foggy and bathroom needs a good scrub. Towels are tiny. Beds ok but can feel springs, pillow flat. Rooms made up if asked Towels have a strange dirty color No apology for bug carcass in the bed and when housekeeping was called to ask about it she said there’d been a problem getting fresh bedding so was it even changed? Receptionist reported to management who we didn’t hear from mind you. Pool is adjacent to beer garden in full view of patrons. Tradies and Yahoos from bar come into the pool area to have loud conversations using very crass language smoking Very uncomfortable using the pool so the young girls and ourselves left and went back to our rooms. Pool area needs weeding and a good clean pool itself is clean. It wouldn’t take much for it to look a lot better. Friday night went to get drink for pool area and barmaid was naked. Where’s the disclaimer for that when you book your rooms. Can hear phone call in bathroom next door from our bathroom. Rooftop restaurant was closed. They don’t know why or for how long. .
There were doors banging all night. Then comes Saturday night. We decided to get meal at the pub part of the accommodation. If you though it was bad so far It’s about to get worse. Just went to order snacks for around the pool and book dinner tonight and it turns out, wait for it, the chef quit, just walked out
What an experience one we won’t repeat.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Just M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Dear Trudy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an enjoyable guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We appreciate your detailed feedback, and we will address these items with the team.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2022 via mobile

Disgusting - never seen a place so terrible… and run down… ants in the room… lights not working, bumpy bed. I would not recommend. Understand it is difficult to find accomodation in Darwin but I’d suggest to book in advance to avoid ending up in places like this!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank DayTrip45127388800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2022

Dear Ann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve, and we will address these issues.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

Ordered food well before cut off time. It wasn’t busy but still waited half an hour to query. We were told there was a miscommunication and the food had been sitting in the kitchen. We were given a cash refund but not given credit charge. Left hungry.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LoveTravel538955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are glad that you received a refund for your meal, and we will pass your feedback onto the team.

Regards, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews