We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$135
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$128
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
tikaneve2016
Goleta, California
Ok hotel for brief stay
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Sept 2022
Long walk to town but close to the botanic gardens. Rooms could use an update but sit outside at the pool. Loud live. Suicidal on weekends. Laundry room and well center. Overall a bit overpriced for the location.
Date of stay: August 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.2 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lagoon
1.1 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hero Shot
1.0 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
7.0 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.3 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Pool
Restaurant
0.5 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Exterior
7.1 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mantra-On-The-Esplanade-Darwin-Exterior
1.1 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Pool
Room service
1.3 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
13
40
50
33
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
40
50
33
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub attached ve stayed here decent size pool area is easy walk upgrades
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

Spacious room advertised is small. Breakfast buffet advertised does not exist & nowhere close to get it as it’s a fair walk into town.No microwave or hairdryer one mirror in the bathroom so only one person can get ready at a time.No fan in the bathroom so mirror gets foggy and bathroom needs a good scrub. Towels are tiny. Beds ok but can feel springs, pillow flat. Rooms made up if asked Towels have a strange dirty color No apology for bug carcass in the bed and when housekeeping was called to ask about it she said there’d been a problem getting fresh bedding so was it even changed? Receptionist reported to management who we didn’t hear from mind you. Pool is adjacent to beer garden in full view of patrons. Tradies and Yahoos from bar come into the pool area to have loud conversations using very crass language smoking Very uncomfortable using the pool so the young girls and ourselves left and went back to our rooms. Pool area needs weeding and a good clean pool itself is clean. It wouldn’t take much for it to look a lot better. Friday night went to get drink for pool area and barmaid was naked. Where’s the disclaimer for that when you book your rooms. Can hear phone call in bathroom next door from our bathroom. Rooftop restaurant was closed. They don’t know why or for how long. .
There were doors banging all night. Then comes Saturday night. We decided to get meal at the pub part of the accommodation. If you though it was bad so far It’s about to get worse. Just went to order snacks for around the pool and book dinner tonight and it turns out, wait for it, the chef quit, just walked out
What an experience one we won’t repeat.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Just M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Dear Trudy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an enjoyable guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We appreciate your detailed feedback, and we will address these items with the team.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2022 via mobile

Disgusting - never seen a place so terrible… and run down… ants in the room… lights not working, bumpy bed. I would not recommend. Understand it is difficult to find accomodation in Darwin but I’d suggest to book in advance to avoid ending up in places like this!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank DayTrip45127388800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2022

Dear Ann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve, and we will address these issues.

Sincerely, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

Ordered food well before cut off time. It wasn’t busy but still waited half an hour to query. We were told there was a miscommunication and the food had been sitting in the kitchen. We were given a cash refund but not given credit charge. Left hungry.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LoveTravel538955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are glad that you received a refund for your meal, and we will pass your feedback onto the team.

Regards, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2022 via mobile

This place isn’t for everyone. If you’ve been in a 5 star “hotel” before, think of this as a 2 star “motel”
Personally I love it. Not sure exactly why but I do.
Maybe it’s because I’ve stayed here so many times that I know what to expect.
Yes it’s old and run down and is popular with blokes who are in Darwin to go fishing and drink beer. Would I take a wife and kids there… probably not. The pool area is just average and facilities in general aren’t great.
For me though…. I get a clean bed, a fridge and kettle, aircon, a bar downstairs and it’s got a funky smell. Perfect!
The only thing that let me down this time was no milk in the fridge for my tea in the morning.
This place is always on the cheaper side of Darwin hotels so you’re getting what you pay for, especially in peak season 👍

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JeffS758
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2022

Hi JeffS758,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoy staying with us, and find the facilities clean and suitable for your needs.
We are sorry to hear there was no milk in the fridge, we will pass this onto the team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards, Frontier Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Pool was broken taps don't work mouldy rooms don't bother staying here location is no good either people aren't very friendly and the cleaners are hopeless couldn't say anything good about it. 0 stars

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank petersD2095QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2022

Hi petersD2095QW,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Will certainly address these issues with our team. Thanks again, Frontier Hotel Darwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews