We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$169
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Priceline
AU$169
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$150
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Viv
Melbourne, Australia

Good value and location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 July 2022
Good location, adequate facilities that served their purpose. An older hotel and therefore a bit tired, but was clean and comfortable, a great choice if on a budget. A great location too if not wanting to be right in the city… easy to get everywhere.
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dustin Kochen, Owner at Frontier Hotel Darwin, responded to this review
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Dear vivanross,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear you liked the location! We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards, Frontier Hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lagoon
Booking.com
AU$339
  • Hotels.com
    AU$320
  • Agoda.com
    AU$302
  • Priceline
    AU$346
1.0 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$345
  • Expedia.com
    AU$400
  • Agoda.com
    AU$312
  • Hotels.com
    AU$400
1.4 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Smith Hotel Darwin
Booking.com
AU$266
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$299
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
  • Hotels.com
    AU$239
0.7 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$314
  • Hotels.com
    AU$349
  • Expedia.com
    AU$349
  • Priceline
    AU$349
1.2 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hero Shot
Booking.com
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$206
  • Agoda.com
    AU$197
  • Hotels.com
    AU$249
1.0 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$275
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
  • Vio.com
    AU$234
  • Priceline
    AU$244
0.5 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Booking.com
AU$167
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$155
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
  • Expedia.com
    AU$171
1.3 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$298
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$298
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$288
  • Expedia.com
    AU$298
1.1 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$132
  • Priceline
    AU$176
6.8 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$170
  • Priceline
    AU$172
  • Agoda.com
    AU$132
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
4.6 km from Frontier Hotel Darwin
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
13
40
50
33
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
40
50
33
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub attached ve stayed here decent size pool area is easy walk upgrades
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2022 via mobile

Poorly maintained, very poor AC, kitchenette consists of kettle and 2 mugs, 2 of 4 light bulbs not working, light too poor to allow reading in bed, grubby bathroom, half flush only working on toilet. Staff friendly, sheets clean bed comfortable (2 pillows only) Lunch and dinner available downstairs in bar, no room service and greater than 1 km walk to get coffee or food.

Room tip: Book somewhere closer to cafes etc.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2022

Well I was pretty surprised at the price versus value.
It's an ok hotel, I would call it a motel. Dated and looks like it needs some love and upgrades. I believe the curtains hanging are the originals.
I would definitely not factor in the gym unless old tea bags on the window sill and petrified cane toads on the floor is your jam. Not to mention half the equipment broken and covered in inches of dust.
Bed was comfy, tv worked, shower was sometimes hot.
When I asked the receptionist about a tour " I honestly have no idea was the answer." House keepers yelling down the hall ways was the perfect alarm clock.
Over all did the trick. Would I stay again hard no.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Windjammer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2022

Room was good, bed was comfortable. Toilet was tucked behind bathroom door which could have been a bit challenging if someone pushes the door open.
Asked at reception about a light meal in the evening. My wife and I followed the instructions to the bar/restaurant on site. Was a little surprised that this was a nudie bar and not the place to enjoy a light meal.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D9677HVandreww
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2022 via mobile

Stayed at the Frontier Hotel for two nights. One pillow provided per bed, requested more pillows at reception (phone in room not connected), was advised they had no more pillows and provided couch cushions instead. Limited lighting in the rooms and one of these had blown. Water pressure in the shower was reasonable. Rooms are certainly showing signs of their age with water damage to bathroom splash backs. Pool was pleasant. For the price, there are certainly other places in Darwin that are better value for money.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank amberb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2022

Old,Uncared for, Old rooms, no room service. no cleaning we stayed a week. They seem to include themselves with the hotel next door but hotel says they are not connected in any way, also same with Celebration. Cannot have drinks around pool area unless you buy them from the hotel (but they are not connected?) Frontier Hotels need to downgrade the advertising of the hotel, totally different to what they advertise. Staff good but cannot seem to grasp what we were talking about. Pictures must have been taken on a real good day. $1,000 a week must be better places to stay will be a little bit more careful in future. The laundry filthy, old linen on floor, papers dust from driers I DID NOT BELIEVE PEOPLE COULD WORK IN THESE CONDITIONS FILTHY. GYM A SMALL ROOM LOCKED OFF TO SIDE OF PASSAGE. DIRTY OLD MICROWAVE ONLY AVAILABLE DOWN CORRIDOR. Fridge not defrosted for ? months cannot keep drinks cold. 2 teaspoons only cultery, no top up of toiltries,milk,tea,coffee, on the + side bed quite comfy, air cond okay but you cannot adjust it. You can have room cleaned but must pay extra. No reception after 9pm I think. Car park wherever you can at your own risk. Noticed leaves in pool (lots) not cleaned for 4 days finally cleaned when they had there so called pool party (b00m b00m music for 5 hours drove us crazy. Meals at hotel next door good value looking forward to roast on final day but cook decided to take time off would have been nice to have been told but they only told us as 7.00 when we sat down to order, we had to catch a cab back into town to get dinner. Everything seems to be tagged with the old slap hazard attitude which does surprise me with post Covid things are still getting back to how it used to be (maybe this has always been the same way). Be aware not all is as it seems and the Frontier Hotel picture tell a million stories but not always true stories. I find some of the overall rating of these places to be very suspicious when so many reviews borderline the negative. Last but not least GET SOME BLASTED LIGHT INTO YOUR ROOMS TWO PATHETIC LITTLE 1900 LAMPS DO NOT PROVIDE ENOUGH LIGHT TO SEE THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ROOM REALL. Would i stay there again No. This could be a good thriving business i feel they may be running it down to sell off.

Room tip: It all depends on what you would call a good room.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ashandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews