We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Cassandra K
Darwin, Australia
Why the bad reviews?!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Dec 2019via mobile
Stayed for 2 weeks and it's been amazing. Great staff, aircon is a dream and always clean. Cutlery has to be hired so the kitchen is usually spotless. Best hostel in Darwin. I dont understand these bad reviews.
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$292
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$255
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mantra-On-The-Esplanade-Darwin-Exterior
Booking.com
AU$298
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$289
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
AU$223
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$275
0.8 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$331
  • Expedia.com
  • Hilton
    AU$331
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Pool
Restaurant
Lagoon
Booking.com
AU$232
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hero Shot
Booking.com
AU$234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$199
  • Hotels.com
    AU$267
0.1 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$152
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$131
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$251
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$212
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Booking.com
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$198
7.7 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$329
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Algotels
    AU$298
  • Novotel
    AU$329
7.7 km from Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
52
106
110
103
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
106
110
103
54
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2019 via mobile

Aircon, best staff, cheap drinks, perfect location, well organised and run!! We stayed in a 6 bed shared dorm and a private 2 person dorm with en-suite and both were clean, comfortable and presentable.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ragingvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

I stayed at the melaleuca for 3 nights while in Darwin. The rooms were clean and the air con worked well. The staff were super friendly. Shout out to Sebastian who reunited me with my lost teddy bear. Thank you.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank chloecurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2019

Amazing hostel located in the heart of Darwin. Amazing facilities, the laundry room perfect after doing the over night trip in Kakadu. The pool and common areas are perfect for relaxing when waiting to catch a late flight. Thank you for an amazing stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank aidu19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the hostel for four nights, in a mixed dorm. Facilities are generally ok, beds are ok, clean, kitchen can be a bit better (stoves don't work). Staff is friendly and helpfull. Although this a very big party hostel, and I don't particularly like this type of hostel, I was happy with my stay.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank SachaGobeyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2019

The hostel is fine but considering the reputation YHA has I had higher hopes.

I emailed on 3 seperate occassions before arrival and recieved no response to any of these. 2 emails were trying to organise the shuttle bus so I had to fork out for a taxi instead.

The facilities are good. The pool is clean and has a few mattress type beds to lounge on. The bar is affordable and has a good atmosphere.

The key card to get into the rooms was nothing but hassle. It often took between 3-5 attempts for it to work. This seemed to be with many people and in different rooms so it wasnt just mine. This is especially annoying late at night with people coming and going at all hours.

My room (84) smelled awful -a persistant musty smell somewhere between vinegar and sweaty socks. Every time I walked into the room I had to give myself a few minutes to re-adjust to the smell. It wasnt unbearable but certainly not pleasant.

The bathrooms were kept clean and in good condition.

The kitchen was usually ok but it was a regular occurance for people to not clean up after themselves and leave a mess for the next person. This isnt the hostels fault but maybe they could put up signs reminding people it is a shared space and noone is here to clean up after them.maybe the threat of a fine or eviction might help.

On my last day as I was passing another room I noticed between 10 -15 bugs outside a room on level 2(pics below).I also removed my pillow case and noticed its covered in black spots that look like it may have been caused from dampness but I could be wrong about that.

Overall,its not a horrible place but there are other options in the area. I would not stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank 32nikkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews