We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
46
104
112
88
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
104
112
88
72
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Good: Excellent location at center of town. Can use the facilities of neighbouring YHA like the kitchen and TV room.
Bad: Poor higene with cockroaches! Rooms quite small, cannot open big suitcases inside the room.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Cheng t,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn Darwin. In a tropical environment we do have pest luike cockroaches and ants sometimes come in from outside. We have a number of strategies to try and combat these issues including bringing in an external contractor to ensure our pest control is completed. After been advised of a couple of issues within rooms we put rooms offline to get them fumigated and we hope that this has resolved the issue.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels around the top end.

Regards
The team at VINN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

There are so many little problems with this place. They all add up to a poor valud experiance. Sticky carpets, old fottings in the bathrooms, side ways showers that dont spray down. Ants. Windows screwed shut so there is no relief from the mouldy smell. I would pfefer to be bush camping with my swag. Oh and shared facilities with the yha melaluca hostel next door. Party on.!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank cluurj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Claire J,

Thank you with your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are continuously doing maintenance on the property to improve the appearance and this weeks job is cleaning all the carpets. We appreciate your review and hope you enjoy your bush camping.

Regards
The team at VINN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Bed bugs in one of the beds. Smelly mouldy room. 1950s style fittings & fixtures. They haven't changed bed covers since 1970s. Cheap? Sure but at what cost? UnCivilised living. Accommodation on the Gold coast Qld at the same price is normal 2018 western civilised living.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi Helen M

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We were disappointed to read your comments in relation to our centrally located budget accommodation. I am unsure when you stayed but we have not had any reports of bed bugs in the rooms so it makes it very hard to respond to the review that you have written.

We are always happy to receive constructive criticism and if we were advised that you had an issue during your stay we could of tried to resolve it. I hope that you enjoyed your stay in the NT.

Regards
Sheena Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Unfortunately, the only positive of this 'hotel' is its location in the city.

We had two rooms. The rooms smelled mouldy and there was hair on the bed and in the shower. The walls were cracked and the aircon looked black like it had never been cleaned. The worst of all was on the second night, when we returned to the room to find big and small big cockroaches EVERYWHERE! On the bed, on the walls, under the luggage, on the fridge, in the bathroom. When I went to reception to ask for a solution, the man said 'you chose to come here and even the Hilton would have this problem, welcome to Darwin'. We were then given an insect spray to use before we sleep (!) and the room would be checked the next day. Of course, nothing happened. The cleaners were nice, 'housekeeping' was a change over of towels if you asked for it so don't be fooled into thinking this is a hotel. It is definitely a very low budget backpacker's.

Would never stay here again!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank athanasiai2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi Anthasia I

Thank you for your review we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Regarding the cockroaches I understand that this can be very distressing to visitors, invariably however, the cockroaches come in from outside and are not due to uncleanliness or a lack of pest control, they are simply one of those things that can be very hard to manage in a property with open doors and windows. Value Inn has a comprehensive pest control programme with a pest control company who treat the property regularly and when rooms are identified as having problems a secondary treatment is also done.

Regards
Sheena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

I've stayed in this hotel three times now. Each time has been at the end of a long cruise in PNG or Indonesia. As such, I only stay here for the day while waiting for a night flight back home to Bali. The cost is reasonable for what you get.

The rooms are clean with AC and en suite. There's a small refrigerator, a little TV mounted on the wall, a comfortable bed. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. This place can be a little noisy during the day (I've never stayed overnight so I don't know how it is at night), but that has never really bothered me.

For me the main things that I like about the hotel are the location and the price. The location is great; it's right in the center of the backpacker area so there are many restaurants around, as well as a few good bars that have smoking areas for us smokers. It's just a short walk to the shops for last minute souvenir buying.

This is my place to stay when I have a short stay in Darwin.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank drbrucepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi drbrucepk,

Thank you for your review we are pleased to read that you enjoy staying with us and we look forward to seeign you the next time you are in Darwin.

Regards
Sheena Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews