We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RMC
Melbourne, Australia

Desperately needs a revamp

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Oct 2022via mobile
We booked an ocean view suite. We had an ocean view and a very very old tired room! Desperately in need of renovation.
The bed surrounds jutted out and were an OHS nightmare. My partner sustained a deep cut to the ankle during our stay. We had to put our pillows at the two edges of the bed to help stop further injury.
The lagoon pool had very old tatty sun lounges and a terribly small bar with bar person who didn’t know much.
There were a lot of “deflated plastic children floaty toys just hanging around... these need to be disposed of... fly into the ocean and damage sea life...also an eye sore,
The Infinity pool was in a disgraceful state. We visited it the day after it had been open to the public.clearly not cleaned and the sun lounges were in a desperate state. All ripped, I walked around they were all like that! Just horrid
Random people from outside came in and lounged around. No security and when I saw one I mentioned it and he just shrugged! Lock the gates to the beach!
Not a very safe place
Would not return

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Smith Hotel Darwin
AU$230
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$218
  • Hotels.com
    AU$212
  • Trip.com
    AU$240
1.6 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
AU$304
  • Expedia.com
    AU$338
  • StayForLong
    AU$236
  • Hotels.com
    AU$338
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$230
  • Doubletree
    AU$230
  • Expedia.com
    AU$230
  • Algotels
    AU$229
1.6 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$235
  • Vio.com
    AU$231
  • Agoda.com
    AU$219
  • Hotels.com
    AU$281
2.0 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$301
  • Expedia.com
    AU$359
  • Agoda.com
    AU$275
  • Hotels.com
    AU$359
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$255
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$263
  • Expedia.com
    AU$263
  • Hotels.com
    AU$263
2.7 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
AU$249
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$249
  • Hotels.com
    AU$243
  • Trip.com
    AU$249
2.1 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$195
  • Priceline
    AU$183
  • Agoda.com
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$193
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$254
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$254
  • Vio.com
    AU$213
  • Hotels.com
    AU$254
1.9 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Room service
Cabin with one queen bed
AU$185
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
  • Agoda.com
    AU$132
  • Priceline
    AU$172
4.9 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
311
369
230
106
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
311
369
230
106
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool swim up bar mindil beach il piatto dragon court spa bath chinese restaurant mindil markets the ground floor cullen bay vue sandbar cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2022 via mobile

Went to the darwin casino and not one of the bars had any zero alcohol beverages available.
This was not an isolated event- but was experienced bumpy myself and others over a 5 day period.
Considering this is a growing industry with many choosing to not consume alcohol, I’m surprised that a casino does not have any zero options available.
Considering the high alcohol incidence, the need to support responsible drinking and driving and the ability to cater to all consumers, I’m disappointed that I was only able to purchase soft drink, juice or water.

‘Gamble responsibly’ signage is everywhere. How about promoting ‘drinking responsibly’ also by enabling people to purchase zero drinks ?

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Havique
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2022

We decided to stay here this trip to mix things up a bit from where we usually stay in Darwin.

This property has some good qualities and some not so great. As other reviewers have said it is a little tired and dated, but there's really not much else in Darwin to choose from.

First, choose your room wisely. We booked one of the rooms with direct pool access which was actually pretty good. The room itself was modern, large, clean, and well appointed. Sleep quality was fantastic so no complaints there.

Staff were always helpful (when you could find them)...I realise staffing in the NT is an issue so I will let this point slide.

Food & Beverage - wow....shocking, we tried the restaurants, bars and even room service...the meals were not only expensive for what they were but the standard of catering was really substandard, think of a RSL in 1985 but worse.

The property itself is a short scooter ride or walk into the CBD if you find the urge to explore Darwin city.

Note:

The main pool area (not where the rooms are but closer to the casino end) is open to the public so every man and his dog are allowed in, if you want to party it up and enjoy a pumping day drinking crowded pool then head here.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelinBroVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2022 via mobile

Party central. Lots of big grouos on rugby tours drinking all day in the lagoon pool. We had a lagoon room and peope were swimming up andclimbing on our deck with cocktails in hand. The lagoon bar plays loud music all day too. Lots of renovations going on all day too. Minimal staff so dirty dishes/trays everywhere.

Room tip: Don’t get a lagoon pool room
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Heidinewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2022

I booked online but then called to make sure Iwas close to pool…Apparently my room was but to get to the pool was a fair hike.
the rooms certainly don’t look like the website photos. It is in great need of a refurbishment, our room also smelt damp and moody. Only one restaurant was open which meant we constantly needed to leave to find a great meal. We requested items from housekeeping and never received them
Shutters on the windows that didn’t stay closed meant we were woken early by the sun….

Room tip: If you want to be poolside book a resort swim up room
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank anneettaR1223LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2022

Our room was amazing and the staff were lovely.
The swim up rooms are terririfc and very private compared to the other pool area.
Greta cocktails at the pool bar and through out the resort. So many greta spots to sit and watch the sunset and to cool off after a day of adventuring.
Breakfast was great and food and drink well priced in the resort.

Room tip: swim up rooms are the best
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueandpete65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews