We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$339
Hotels.com
AU$320
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$302
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Hollywoodmick
Melbourne, Australia

Bit Over Rated

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Sept 2022
Stayed here for 5 Days, room looked tired in need of fresh paint and filler. It said we had mini bar no mini bar just a bar fridge, no phone charging stations as mentioned, Foxtel hardly worked and only a couple of channels, Bathroom smelt like a sewer the whole time we were here reported to staff nothing done about it. Food here was sos so guess due to staffing issues but the breakfast options weren't very nice. View from the room was ok would suggest the other side with the swim up pools but for the price charged sure there better options in Darwin

Overall was a nice stay but would never stay or recommend anyone to stay here
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Smith Hotel Darwin
Booking.com
AU$266
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
  • Hotels.com
    AU$239
1.6 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$345
  • Expedia.com
    AU$400
  • Agoda.com
    AU$312
  • Hotels.com
    AU$400
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$314
  • Expedia.com
    AU$349
  • Hotels.com
    AU$349
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$275
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$250
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Hero Shot
Booking.com
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$197
  • Hotels.com
    AU$249
2.0 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$298
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$288
  • Hotels.com
    AU$298
1.9 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
AU$167
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
  • Expedia.com
    AU$171
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Outdoor Pool
Booking.com
AU$285
  • Expedia.com
    AU$285
  • eDreams
    AU$273
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$132
  • Priceline
6.4 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$170
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$132
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
4.9 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveller rating
310
367
229
106
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
310
367
229
106
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool swim up bar mindil beach il piatto dragon court spa bath chinese restaurant mindil markets the ground floor cullen bay vue sandbar cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2022 via mobile

I was disappointed with the room. Spent 400 on one night and got an old bath shower, no curtains on window and very basic facilities. Infinity pool didn’t have much shade, chairs everywhere. Cocktails weren’t amazing, ordered a mango one and didn’t even taste the fruit.

Room tip: I would make sure you get a refundable rate, ask for a walk in shower
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Milli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2022

Be carefully when booking this place staff are helpful but the advertising is misleading a luxury room with an ensuite at nearly $500 per night is nothing more than a 12 by 10 box 2 chairs on so called balcony and your feet hang over the edge left on arrival after seeing room
Told on departure that that’s the going rate for a “luxury room” (dog box) not true we’re able to book luxury apartment on water for same price
More than disappointing buyer beware

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank S5929KMgaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2022

This is a popular, large resort with a casino. It has to be the type of thing you like in order to enjoy it. It is a very crowded and noisy hotel. The two main restaurants were booked out when we were there, so reserve in advance if you wish to dine there. We stayed overnight on two occasions. On the first occasion, our room, at about $750 a night, gave little privacy from the general pool area. The room fronted right onto the pool with large glass doors meaning that there was only glass between the people in the pool and us in our room. We asked for, on our return, a more private room. They subsequently put us in the room that was the closest possible to the general hotel beach and pool and was directly opposite the pool bar. Within the room, facilities were minimal and sometimes unacceptable including heavily stained plastic wine glasses. On our first visit, we ordered room service. We rang to tell them when we were done and that the tray was outside. They didn’t collect it. The animals sprayed duck bones and food remains everywhere. Three times we requested the tray to be collected but it didn’t happen.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2022

Reading other reviews, it is apparent that perceptions of this resort/ hotel complex depend on which room you stay in. The Resort side is vastly different to the hotel. We selected the pool access room in the resort and could not have been happier. Direct swim out to the pool from a spacious deck and outdoor lounge area. Good sized room and bathroom with good mini bar and storage. Decor was smart and clean and the bed very comfortable. Great location for Mindil Markets, Cullen Bay and a relatively short walk into Darwin City. We included breakfast in our rate and received fruit platters, pastries, tea/coffee and juice and a selection of hot dishes that were absolutely wonderful; many varied from the usual breakfast offerings. Plenty of bar options and restaurants on site. Although I recommend a walk down to Nirvana restaurant; a Darwin institution. Loved the Mindil Beach Resort and highly recommend the pool access room. It makes your holiday so much more special. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank KathrynE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2022 via mobile

Pros: Lagoon rooms are lovely. Great views, spacious, modern and close to lagoon pool. Swim up bay and the cocktails it offers are fabulous. Lots of green fields bear the beach for the kids to run around on. Right next to the Mindil markets which are a must if visiting Darwin. Multiple pools to try. Has a gym which is small but fine.

Cons: need a car to get around from this hotel. The main tower in the resort (located next to lagoon pool suites) is pretty dated and the main lobby could do with a more plush refurb. Connected to a casino….but a pretty tired one. Probably needs another hotel restaurant given the main one near the Lagoon pool is closed. Paid parking to be located 2 mins closer to the hotel is a bit cheeky.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mr_restless_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews