We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
robyn r
Melbourne, Australia

We won't be returning

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Sept 2022
This is a popular, large resort with a casino. It has to be the type of thing you like in order to enjoy it. It is a very crowded and noisy hotel. The two main restaurants were booked out when we were there, so reserve in advance if you wish to dine there. We stayed overnight on two occasions. On the first occasion, our room, at about $750 a night, gave little privacy from the general pool area. The room fronted right onto the pool with large glass doors meaning that there was only glass between the people in the pool and us in our room. We asked for, on our return, a more private room. They subsequently put us in the room that was the closest possible to the general hotel beach and pool and was directly opposite the pool bar. Within the room, facilities were minimal and sometimes unacceptable including heavily stained plastic wine glasses. On our first visit, we ordered room service. We rang to tell them when we were done and that the tray was outside. They didn’t collect it. The animals sprayed duck bones and food remains everywhere. Three times we requested the tray to be collected but it didn’t happen.
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Smith Hotel Darwin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$237
  • Hotels.com
    AU$196
  • Official Hotel
1.6 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Lobby
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$251
  • Vio.com
    AU$246
  • Doubletree
    AU$251
1.6 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$312
  • Algotels
    AU$298
  • Trip.com
    AU$346
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$236
  • Priceline
    AU$250
  • Vio.com
    AU$214
  • Hotels.com
    AU$281
2.0 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$217
  • Agoda.com
    AU$194
  • Priceline
    AU$234
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$246
  • Vio.com
    AU$229
  • Trip.com
    AU$246
2.0 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$177
  • Agoda.com
    AU$164
  • Priceline
    AU$183
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$296
  • AdinaHotels.com
    AU$287
  • Vio.com
    AU$289
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
2.7 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$279
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$223
  • Travelodge.com.au
    AU$271
1.7 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Cabin with one queen bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$157
  • Agoda.com
    AU$133
  • Priceline
    AU$172
4.9 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
311
369
230
106
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
311
369
230
106
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool swim up bar mindil beach il piatto dragon court spa bath chinese restaurant mindil markets the ground floor cullen bay vue sandbar cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2022

Reading other reviews, it is apparent that perceptions of this resort/ hotel complex depend on which room you stay in. The Resort side is vastly different to the hotel. We selected the pool access room in the resort and could not have been happier. Direct swim out to the pool from a spacious deck and outdoor lounge area. Good sized room and bathroom with good mini bar and storage. Decor was smart and clean and the bed very comfortable. Great location for Mindil Markets, Cullen Bay and a relatively short walk into Darwin City. We included breakfast in our rate and received fruit platters, pastries, tea/coffee and juice and a selection of hot dishes that were absolutely wonderful; many varied from the usual breakfast offerings. Plenty of bar options and restaurants on site. Although I recommend a walk down to Nirvana restaurant; a Darwin institution. Loved the Mindil Beach Resort and highly recommend the pool access room. It makes your holiday so much more special. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank KathrynE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2022 via mobile

Pros: Lagoon rooms are lovely. Great views, spacious, modern and close to lagoon pool. Swim up bay and the cocktails it offers are fabulous. Lots of green fields bear the beach for the kids to run around on. Right next to the Mindil markets which are a must if visiting Darwin. Multiple pools to try. Has a gym which is small but fine.

Cons: need a car to get around from this hotel. The main tower in the resort (located next to lagoon pool suites) is pretty dated and the main lobby could do with a more plush refurb. Connected to a casino….but a pretty tired one. Probably needs another hotel restaurant given the main one near the Lagoon pool is closed. Paid parking to be located 2 mins closer to the hotel is a bit cheeky.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mr_restless_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2022 via mobile

We had a few days at Mindil Beach resort - a beautiful room with direct pool access - so lovely to step out for a swim anytime- found the price of food & cocktails reasonable which was a surprise given it was a resort. They are short staffed due to COVID but have put strategies in to address that - beautiful sunsets, the Italian was well placed to see the sunset while having a lovely meal & glass of wine. The atmosphere in the bar with live music, great views & atmosphere- would definitely recommend

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank StellaandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2022

As per previous review they charged us twice for our very over prized accommodation .After we spent countless hours emails/phone calls we finally got our money back and after another 3 weeks involving the parent company in USA they offered us a ''discount/compensation'' for our troubles .The discount will hardly pay for a restaurant meal put at least they acknowledged that they did the wrong thing.There are far better places to stay in Darwin

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2022 via mobile

Doesn’t feel at all like the photos you see at booking because the website adverts on booking sites are very false in most regards.

Outdated, bad view for over 400 a night. Classic casino take your money elsewhere. Pool and location awesome. Chinese restaurant great.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews