We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
EnglishViv
Hove, United Kingdom

A good hotel - but beware ....

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 July 2021via mobile
This is a good hotel and likely one of the best in Darwin. The staff ate generally very well trained (especially reception and housekeeping) and it has the facilities you’d expect of a property within a lot of ‘stars’. The bedroom I had (superior spa room) was good - slightly damp smelling on arrival but much more nicely fragranced thereafter! The spa bath was great and the TV had multiple channels and pay movies. Wifi was OK when I arrived but rapidly deteriorated as more people checked in and went online.
The weakest part is the restaurant service, especially at breakfast. The one breakfast I did have was just about OK but you could have had better at a local cafe. The following day, I couldn’t get breakfast at all at the hotel (was advised of a 40 minute wait to get anything) and was advised by reception to walk to a local cafe - which I did and was great (Eva’s at the botanic gardens) and so went there every subsequent day.
This is a casino and resort and so popular with locals. On a very bright sunny Sunday, the pool/bar area was totally over-run with locals and there was absolutely nowhere for hotel residents to sit and it was really unpleasant to try to swim in the pool while people just stood in it drinking beer. I ended up sat on a bench just outside the resort facing the beach.
Overall, I think the hotel does need a few quiet areas for residents to relax in, away from the other business operation (gambling and hospitality).
That said, this was a good experience and the part of the hotel where I was staying was quiet and peaceful.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
AU$275
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$298
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$305
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$219
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
AU$286
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$266
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
The Smith Hotel Darwin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$227
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$329
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hero Shot
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$295
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$292
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Pool
Room service
Cabin with one queen bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$147
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
311
369
230
106
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
311
369
230
106
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool swim up bar mindil beach il piatto dragon court spa bath chinese restaurant mindil markets the ground floor cullen bay vue sandbar cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2021

We only stopped in to have a look around and a play on the pokies and thought if the restaurants looked ok we may stop for lunch. We are used to Crown Casino in Melbourne so we were a bit surprised at how small it is but it seemed very clean and there were lots of friendly staff around ready to help. After looking around we put some money through the machines and then went to have a look at the menus at the restaurants. Nothing really excited us that much so we decided to go somewhere else. We had a look at the pool area and were very impressed with the infinity pool.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

When Darwin went into lockdown, this hotel swung into action. Although I must confess I thought closing the pools was a bit excessive, but on reflection it was the right thing to do. Speaking of the right thing to do, giving a meaningful $100 daily room service voucher was an excellent piece of customer relations. Well done manager. Before it was closed, the lagoon pool was better than any we’ve found in Australia. The staff are fantastic, the food is ok though a bit limited and the accommodation dated, but there’s nothing wrong with dated.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank HarryL364
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2021

The day before we were booked in we emailed the Hotel with regard to our check in and did not get a response back, not a great start. It didn't improve the team on the front desk were far from welcoming on our arrival.

We stayed for 2 nights on the Friday we went to go down to the Infinity Pool and it was chock full of Back Packers who were allowed access for the day for a Pool Party. At no stage were we informed by the staff that this was occurring. We went to the Lagoon Pool with a swim up bar where we found ripped, damaged beach chair cushions that were riddled with sand.

In all my wife and I were disappointed and would not recommend staying here.

On the other hand the security and restaurant staff at the casino itself were exceptionally helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank toottaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

This place is in a lovely location but very limited service. We weren’t allowed as a family to enter the infinity pool on Friday Saturday or Sunday. So we entered on Monday and there was no service. We had to go into the casino to get drinks and snacks. As my husband had a towel on, the security guard wasn’t going to let him collect our food as he needed to go back and put some shorts on. Empty drink glasses and plates were not collected the whole time we were there, which was 2.5 hours. I booked 2 rooms months ago and they couldn’t put them next to each other. Location is fab for sunset! Your not paying for any service here.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank C4875SXkims
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2021

We staid in the pool room which is a great room but not cheap! for the money we paid for this room in a 4/5 star hotel is outrageously overpriced for the service you get there. I had better service in a back backer hotel - waiting time breakfast 30 minutes including coffee - if you turn up at 9.58 no breakfast service available anymore! next service at 12pm! 2 other restaurants temporary closed so not many option to get food at all -
Waiting time room service 1 hour - waiting time time pool bar service for lunch 30 minutes! this management has to take a good look into what service they provide for the prices they charge! hotel is severely understaffed - the staff in the breakfast restaurant is just coping - and doing it very friendly but they struggle big time - pool bar is understaffed people walking away as bar staff is serving on swim out bar - and not able to attend other bar - daily rooms service never before 4pm! so no fresh towels before then! - with lots of Australian traveling here this year this Hotel management needs to pick up their act! Yes we had Covit - Yes staff is hard to come by - but than charge less! if you can't provide a 5 star service to your guests

Room tip: pool rooms
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews