We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Janet O
Brisbane, Australia
great location and value
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 June 2021
We were cautious due to previous poor reviews but had little choice as everything else was booked out for our dates, however we were glad we stayed here. (BTW if its changed its name it hasnt translated to the signage yet - still has Poinciana in large letters on building). Great things about this hotel:
1. Location - the quieter end of Mitchell street, still near to centre but away from frenetic nightclub scene. Coles on Mitchell Street and Woollies on Smith Street both within 5 min walk. Esplanade, Waterfront, Deckchair Cinema, mall etc, all within walking distance.
2. Value - the building and rooms are dated but the sheets were clean, beds comfy and shower hot. Airconditioning and TV worked well. Also has swimming pool and BBQ. Really good value for city location.
3. Triple rooms - I was travelling with my two adult daughters. Good (and unusual) to get 3 proper beds in one room.
4. Friendly service - there were a couple of hitches such as insufficient towels and cups but these were rectified very quickly and cheerfully. Very helpful with any requests.
(And love your beautiful dog at reception)
Date of stay: June 2021
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$291
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$254
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
0.8 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mantra-On-The-Esplanade-Darwin-Exterior
Booking.com
AU$298
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$298
  • Vio.com
    AU$281
  • Expedia.com
    AU$298
0.4 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
AU$223
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
  • Hotels.com
    AU$275
  • Priceline
    AU$248
1.0 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Pool
Booking.com
AU$297
  • Doubletree
    AU$297
  • Vio.com
    AU$255
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
0.2 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$251
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$251
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$209
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
0.5 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Lagoon
Booking.com
AU$233
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$333
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • Hotels.com
    AU$248
1.6 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hero Shot
Booking.com
AU$232
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$267
  • Agoda.com
    AU$198
  • Vio.com
    AU$214
0.5 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$152
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
  • Agoda.com
    AU$131
  • Vio.com
    AU$138
0.9 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Vio.com
    AU$101
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
7.4 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Novotel
AU$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$329
  • Algotels
    AU$299
  • Priceline
7.6 km from Darwin City Point Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
15
22
18
16
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
22
18
16
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darwin entertainment centre mitchell street secure parking darwin city supermarket esplanade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2021

We have stayed many places but most booked out this weekend so booked here as closest to pubs and restaurants in Mitchell street. Yes not the flashiest but was clean and tidy. Bit old but has everything you need, coffee and tea supplied . Managers very friendly and helpful as arrived hour early. For one night stay couldn’t fault price in dry season. Close to servo for morning coffee or woolies little further down road. Night life and restaurants all in walking distance. Highly recommend if just wanting room for night or two.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirstenandhenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2020

Overnight stay. Good location with access to secure parking. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was reasonable size, nice and clean. Some of the bed lights did not work which was a minor inconvenience. Good value for the price point.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank parbendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2019

Nothing but great things to say about our stay. I took 11 girls to Darwin on a cricket trip for a few days. The attention from management, customer service, rooms, cleanliness, facilities, was all we could ask for. It was a budget hotel, but the service was 5 star. Everything was also walking distance. Thank you Denman for attending to our requests (so many!). It will definitely be our go to place on our next Darwin visit!

Room tip: Pool side rooms are quieter, but front side rooms are nice for sitting out front and watching the night life
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Global11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2019

Only an overnight stay, thank goodness. Pretty average. No tea, coffee, kettle or milk supplied in room. Room basic, 3 single beds, bathroom and TV. Clean room. Pool out the back. Staff were friendly. Close to main street and pubs.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms and beds were clean and spacious. Located a little way from the centre, it does have a pool and car park. The surroundings can be a little dodgy at night if walking back alone. There are no staff on the premises overnight and there is a tendency for locals to urinate inside the stairwell. The staff did clean it regularly, however, so they were doing their best. A coded entry pad would probably solve this problem, keeping the locals out.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank sueg666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
roady646, Manager at Darwin City Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

i am the new manager , I took over the 2/11/18, I work for the owners,
I am cleaning the motel and pool up, it has been knocked around by 3 lease,
please give my staff and I a chance to make your stay a happy one.
cheers carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews