We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sunday Specials Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffrron

Saffrron
Ranked #33 of 352 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: USD 4 - USD 18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Saffrron is a Darwin restaurant with a focus on putting sustainability on the table. Our authentic yet innovative Indian cuisine menu is also a real taste of the Territory, with all fresh produce from local producers and all seafood Territory or Australian-caught.Our full menu is available at our website and includes a tasting menu, vegetarian options and a kids menu (and the kids will love our Golden Paneer Lollipops). House-made items include Indian breads, condiments and desserts.You can order Saffrron takeaway too (via our website). You can find us on Facebook too or sign up for news to hear about our special menu events, including master classes and tours.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Specials Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Last Sunday my partner and I ate at Saffrron and were very pleased with the food. As we have both travelled to India we have a fairly high standard of what we expect. We had the tasting plate, a mixture of great, authenic India flavous my only complaint it is too big! Highligh was the masala dosa, tasted like we were in South India again, very good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
That's a great recommendation, thank you. We're so glad you could join us for Saffrron's South Indian Sunday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    74
    16
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
darwin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Indian Restaurant for the entire Northern Australia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is the only place that serves authentic South Indian dishes like Dosai, Vada and Idly on an exclusive Sunday Menu. The tamarind soup (known as tomato rasam) served on sunday evenings only is a great appetiser and as a person who has travelled across Australia, I can certainly say that these special dishes are not served anywhere across north of Australia except in Saffrron. (not even in Cairns! they tried but could not do it because of sheer absence of required numbers to justify making them!). Against this backdrop I commend the effort of Saffrron team. As for as people who wheinge about the pricing and taste, they have not travelled across Australia to see many indian restaurants!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank formerindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thanks for the great compliment! We're glad you could join us for Saffrron's South Indian Sunday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in Darwin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I love the food at saffron. It is always consistently good, the customer service is outstanding and they do catering as well! The owners and their staff are a pleasure to deal with and take pride in their restaurant. This is definitely a restaurant worth going to if you are in Darwin...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank accc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thanks so much for your great review and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best and most authentic inDarwin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Saffron is always amazing. Ignore the bad reviews, you won't be disappointed.
My mother learnt to cook from and Indian family and these recipes are just the same. The staff are always friendly and helpful.
I love this place, my favorite restaurant in Darwin.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie_Darwin_NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thanks so much for your great review. Sel learnt to cook from his grandmother too before he went on to train professionally. We hope we'll see you again at Saffrron!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The decor of this restaurant is beautiful, but sadly the food was a let down. Very watery, and not much meat in the dishes. The main let down was that they put ghee or oil all over the chapatis which made them inedible!

Helpful?
1 Thank Applefudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
We're glad you took the time to leave a review though we would have liked to have been able to discuss your concerns with you while you were at Saffrron.
Chapattis are traditionally made with ghee but we're always happy to oblige customers who prefer their chapattis with no ghee, or their butter naan with no butter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffrron also viewed

 

Been to Saffrron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing