We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$210
Hotels.com
AU$246
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$180
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Desmond C
Ipswich, Australia
Good location
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2023via mobile
Booked for conference mainly for the location as walking distance to the conference venue as well as food etc. Room was ok but small and was a bit tired and in need of some tlc and a bit of renovation. Travel colleague had unpleasant checkin experience with room not being ready and some concerns re cleanliness of room and amenities. Overall ok but may be cheaper to book direct as price was expensive for a basic motel roo.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Busy time with Darwin Festival May have bumped up the prices!
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$290
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$360
  • Agoda.com
    AU$256
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
0.3 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mantra-On-The-Esplanade-Darwin-Exterior
Booking.com
AU$298
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$298
  • Vio.com
    AU$281
  • Hotels.com
    AU$298
0.2 km from Darwin City Hotel
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
AU$331
  • Hilton
    AU$331
  • Hotels.com
    AU$331
  • Expedia.com
    AU$331
0.2 km from Darwin City Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$218
  • Hotels.com
    AU$269
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
  • Trip.com
    AU$242
0.7 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$152
  • Agoda.com
    AU$131
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Vio.com
    AU$138
0.4 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Outdoor Pool
Booking.com
AU$297
  • Doubletree
    AU$297
  • Vio.com
    AU$255
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
0.5 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$275
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$211
  • Hotels.com
    AU$275
0.6 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Lagoon
Booking.com
AU$231
  • Hotels.com
    AU$234
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • Expedia.com
    AU$234
2.0 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
  • Vio.com
    AU$99
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
7.7 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Novotel
AU$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$329
  • Vio.com
    AU$298
  • Expedia.com
    AU$329
7.6 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
82
79
24
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
82
79
24
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darwin city discount for hotel guests great location centrally located within walking distance king room across the road small pool bathroom amenities an iron secure parking smith st good size car park top floor booked this hotel reception staff water front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2023 via mobile

This was a terrible night of sleep. I feel bad for this hotel because they are located next to multiple dance clubs with thump thump music. The rooms are very stuffy - we had a family room and it did not have enough airflow. On the plus side, it is central and I only found one roach next to my bed.

Room tip: Bring a reading lamp if you are with a partner - there are no bedside lamps.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dream53935222836
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

Whew do I start. We checked in and went up to our room. A pair of dirty undies in the floor and room was different to what we had booked. Problem was rectified quickly and we were given a new room. The new room was spotless and obviosly cleaned - bathroom smelled of bleach. My wife and I settled in, showered after a day of travelling around. The sink in the bathroom wouldn't drain, so I removed the plug cap and discovered the drain was clogged with what seemed to be a year of hair mixed with paper and grime. Mentioned this the following morning worth reception before heading out for the day. Returned a few hours later (about 1pm) found the sink fixed, but room still unmade. Reception asked about sink, and thanked them. Asked housekeeping if they were going to clean the room, and was assured it would be. Went back out for the afternoon returning about 4.30pm to find the room still had not been made. This was the final straw, I had been extremely patient and understanding up until now. Went down to reception and voiced my frustrations (in a matter of fact but respectful manner) only to be told the room would not be made up as there were no longer any house keeping staff and were not able to change rooms. This alone would not have been a concern, but all of this had been over the course of not even a day and a half. I can't understand how so many things could have gone wrong... waiting to hear back from the manager.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Spehry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

Dated and tired decor. Room was perfunctory at best. We were ‘upgraded’ to a family room, which backed on to Mitchell Street. Noise from the Mitchell St shenanigans could be heard late into the night/early morning. Room walls also paper thin; could hear snoring from our neighbouring room. Cleanliness somewhat lacking, especially in bathroom. Pretty sure the bathroom bin had been used as a vomit bucket at some point and never cleaned. Toilet seat stained yellow underneath. Smears and stains n walls and soiling on bathroom furniture.
Bathroom was tiny and could not be used by more than one person at a time, which seems unhelpful for a family room !
Would not recommend this hotel. Walk the extra 300 metres down Smith Street and stay at H on Smith hotel. We stayed there 3 nights at the start of our trip and upon our return to Darwin thought we’d share our tourist dollars with a different hotel. Sadly the Darwin City Hotel didn’t deliver.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank becster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2023

Good location, rooms not too spacious, clean with comfy bed, bathroom clean, though a bit dated, with everything one needs. However: it was a bit of a "surprise" that on weekends / bank holidays there is no room cleaning service.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Agnes448
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2023

This hotel is so close to every thing You can walk to any where. Supermarket opposite.
Pool is small but fine. Rooms are good size and good aircon.
Bed is comfortable. and large.
. Staff are ok Not a lot but helpful.
Would stay again

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews