We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$129
Vio.com
AU$118
Fully refundable before Wed, 17 Apr
Agoda.com
AU$114
Fully refundable before Tue, 16 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Judith P
Geelong, Australia
Close to every thing
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jan 2023
This hotel is so close to every thing You can walk to any where. Supermarket opposite.
Pool is small but fine. Rooms are good size and good aircon.
Bed is comfortable. and large.
. Staff are ok Not a lot but helpful.
Would stay again
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
  • Agoda.com
    AU$152
  • Hotels.com
    AU$180
0.3 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$354
  • Expedia.com
    AU$354
  • Vio.com
    AU$326
  • Hotels.com
    AU$354
0.2 km from Darwin City Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$238
  • Expedia.com
    AU$264
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$177
  • Hotels.com
    AU$265
0.7 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$143
  • Priceline
    AU$208
0.6 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Lagoon
Booking.com
AU$187
  • Hotels.com
    AU$191
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Priceline
    AU$239
2.0 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mantra-On-The-Esplanade-Darwin-Exterior
Booking.com
AU$187
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$187
  • Prestigia.com
    AU$164
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
0.2 km from Darwin City Hotel
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
AU$116
  • Priceline
    AU$114
  • Agoda.com
    AU$104
  • Vio.com
    AU$110
0.4 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Novotel
AU$244
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$244
  • Expedia.com
    AU$243
  • Hotels.com
    AU$244
7.6 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
  • Vio.com
    AU$117
  • Priceline
    AU$176
7.7 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$244
Fully refundable
  • Mercure
    AU$244
  • Priceline
    AU$203
  • Hotels.com
    AU$239
7.7 km from Darwin City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
81
79
24
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
81
79
24
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darwin city discount for hotel guests great location centrally located within walking distance king room across the road small pool bathroom amenities an iron secure parking smith st good size car park top floor booked this hotel reception staff water front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2023

We stayed here for 6 nights in an apartment. The first apartment we were in, was very nice modern, and a good size, the couch though was very low and uncomfortable to sit on, it was a click clack lounge. We also found the whole place was very dirty, the cleanliness was disgusting. There were dirty marks on the walls and cupboards, the floor was dirty, and the skirting boards have never been cleaned, the bedside tables were dirty, as was the drawers, I wiped them all down before putting our stuff in them, the bathroom cupboard had dead baby cockroaches in it, and smelt very strongly of insect spray. The bed was comfortable, but made a terrible noise when getting into it. The air conditioner in the lounge, did not work, because it was a public holiday they could not get an electrician, we were offered another room, which was a little smaller, so we said we would wait to the next day for the electrician, next day the electrician could not come, so one of the workers came and said he would clean it, after being cleaned, it still didn’t work, so we were offered another room, which we took.
This apartment was bigger than the last, again it was very nice, they are modern, it’s a shame they are not cleaned and looked after. The same lounge, a click clack lounge, which is not comfy and too low. The floor next to the bed was disgusting, there was like orange juice or something orange and sticky, and also on the bedside table, so I cleaned that, but there was lots of dust balls on the floor and behind the curtains, the bathroom had mildew around the taps and sink hole, and around the toilet was not cleaned properly. there were dirty food marks around the dishwasher. The walls had dirty marks on them, and the skirting boards were also dirty.
There is a laundry in the apartment, which was good.
As for room service, I think we got it once the whole time we were there, and that was, replace our towels and empty the bin, the tea and coffee or the bathroom items were not replaced or refilled either. There were no blankets in the room, just a sheet on the bed, so we had to ask for a blanket. The noise in the corridors carry, Then there’s the staff at the reception desk ; there were a few different staff there each time we went, which were all not very courteous, and impolite. There is secure parking, but that comes at a cost also on top of your accommodation costs.
The good thing is , the hotel is central, and walking distance to the mall, and supermarket across the road, and restaurants nearby.
The downside is definitely the cleanliness , there is none. Very unhygienic.

Room tip: We stayed in an apartment on the top floor. 508. An end room so no traffic. Nice and big, just not clean.
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank morsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2022

I contacted Darwin City Hotel before leaving Sydney to confirm our accommodation, which was confirmed, but upon arrival at Darwin airport I received a text stating that our accommodation has been cancelled after they attempted to contact us which they would have known we had switched off our mobile phones whilst in the air.

I was very upset when I switched on my mobile phone and see a text that our accommodation has been cancelled whilst in the air. It was hard for us mature ladies to find this out upon touching down at the airport at night, we proceeded to go directly to the hotel but contacted the hotel on our way who found a room for us to stay and paid for 3 the nights that was previously booked.

The following day my friend and I went out but upon returning to our room we were unable to open our room with the keys provided, with many attempts, so we went to reception to see if there is something wrong with the key given to us when we we were informed that they thought we were only staying one night even though we had paid for 3 nights.

Very disappointing experience for our first time stay in Darwin and we would not stay in Darwin City Hotel again if and when we visit Darwin again.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nadia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

If I could rate lower I would. Darwin city promises service and quality but will rob you blind. Do not stay. For $100 less you can stay at much nicer places who value customers. The rooms are small and loud and the help desk are awful do not waste your money

Room tip: Don’t stay here
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Explore44610817686
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2022 via mobile

Well situated to city, shopping, restaurants and cafes. Room was a little small, and clearly hear people in next room. Staff very helpful and accomodating. Parking was available in secure yard for a small fee. Bathroom amenities where lacking, used shampoos etc in bathroom

Room tip: Make sure you pre book parking
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 235fredab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2022

We stayed at the hotel twice within a few weeks. The first time we had a ground floor motel type room. It was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a Saturday night and there wasn't any unreasonable noise that we noted.

The 2nd time was about a fortnight later. We had a top floor apartment (room 506. It was clean and well appointed. Once again the staff were friendly and helpful. Once again we stayed on Friday and Saturday night and didn't hear any noise from the pubs etc. Our only complaints are the lounge is way too low for older folk such as us. It was uncomfortable and hard to get out of. The bed was comfortable also, but the base beneath it (we think) was very noisy and could wake light sleepers.

We will stay again in July next year.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 284davee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews