We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$100
Priceline
AU$98
Expedia.com
AU$97
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
80
79
24
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
79
24
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darwin city discount for hotel guests great location centrally located within walking distance king room across the road small pool bathroom amenities an iron secure parking smith st good size car park top floor booked this hotel reception staff water front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Great Central location. Walk to shops restaurants. Clean rooms. Stayed on two separate occasions. First room for two people was extremely small. Had to move furniture to make room for opening our suitcase under the desk. Second visit we were given a room that catered for people with a disability. Plenty of room for anyone in a wheelchair and a large bathroom with a seat in the shower area. Kids had a large room that caters for a family of four. Good size. Front desk staff were friendly. Parking at rear of hotel.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Runawayfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam Scherschel, General Manager at Darwin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Thank you for the taking time to rate Darwin city hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests so we know what we did well and what areas we need to work on. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Regards Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021

Got a room 101 ground floor between reception and pool. When we got in people were drinking by the pool in front of our window with view into the room (see photo). Asked for a room change, answer was "we're fully booked". Back into same room a guy was peeping inside just when my wife got out of the shower so got the drapes closed for the rest of the stay. The bath towel had holes (see photo), only one small soap for the shower and the basin. We stopped again at reception to mention the substandard and our intention to lodge a severe review; all of a sudden, there were other rooms available, we declined, everything was unpacked. Bedding was sheets, no bead spread or blanket or quilt we checked everywhere; consequently, at night if the aircon was on we were shivering, if off we were sweating. Awake late at night by reception noise and early by early swimmers in the pool. IF YOU HAVE NOT BOOKED YET, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

Room tip: Never on ground floor
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam Scherschel, General Manager at Darwin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021



Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and providing us value feedback about your stay. We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can evaluate our performance. On this occasion, we have fallen short of our usual high standard and will be reviewing what has occurred to address the deficiency in service delivery you have experienced. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit.

Thank you
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021

This looks like a brand new hotel. We had a tiny room on the ground floor next to the carpark. Quite noisy and too much light at night. There were double curtains but cut pretty much exactly to the dimensions of the window which was way above the bed. With that, lots of light came top down. Woke up at 2 am and it felt like daytime. Apart from that, very well located. Easy access to shopping and restaurants. We did not have our own car park (10$ the night) but there were options outside the hotel.

Room tip: Avoid the rooms next to the carpark
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Kritikos, General Manager at Darwin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2021

Hi Rachono,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and providing us value feedback about your stay. We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can evaluate our performance. On this occasion, we have fallen short of our usual high standard and will be reviewing what has occurred to address the deficiency in service delivery you have experienced. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit.

Thank you
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021

We booked our room through Qantas frequent flyer and we were dismayed when I opened up the curtains to find two large bin hoppers and the clothesline outside. It was obviously a service area that should not be witnessed by guests. They had probably given us this room as it was through FF. Eventually after much discussion they moved us to another room. This room should be used as a store room and out of use for guests. Very disappointing start to a holiday.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the main street you would have a better view.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pamela003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam Scherschel, General Manager at Darwin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and providing us value feedback about your stay. We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can evaluate our performance. On this occasion, we have fallen short of our usual high standard and will be reviewing what has occurred to address the deficiency in service delivery you have experienced. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2021

This hotel is in a great location , easy walk to shops , restaurants , bars and attractions.
I was travelling with a friend and we each had a very comfortable queen size bed.
The bathroom was spacious and clean.
The staff were helpful and pleasant
A great place to stay!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adieaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam Scherschel, General Manager at Darwin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Thank you for the taking time to rate Darwin city hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests so we know what we did well and what areas we need to work on. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Regards Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews