We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algotels
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
globalraveller32
Auckland, New Zealand
Functional but tired.
Review of Palms Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Sept 2015
Stayed in this this motel as an overnight stop while transiting through Darwin en-route to Alice Springs. Arrived at the motel at about 7:30pm, already dark. No lit property signage so very difficult for taxi to locate property. Check in O.K. , property owner/manager very helpful.

Property itself is very dated, and while clean and tidy , the facilities are in need of a major upgrade--bathroom in particular.
Property located within walking distance, probably 15 minutes , of the main entertainment region of Darwin.
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$275
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$297
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Palms Motel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.7 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Novotel
AU$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$329
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
6.9 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lagoon
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$243
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mantra-On-The-Esplanade-Darwin-Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$286
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Palms Motel
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$277
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$208
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Hero Shot
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$279
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
5
11
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
11
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We spent three nights at the Palms following our arrival in Darwin on a birding trip. The location was perfect for us, since the hotel is next door to the Botanic Gardens and near the Stuart Highway as well, so it was easy to get out of town quickly to visit some birding locations. The accommodation is basic: the room was rather spartan and cheaply furnished, but the kitchenette had everything we needed including an excellent electric frying pan, and the small fridge kept our food supplies, and our drinking water and beer, ice-cold. There is a pub across the road, which we did not try, with an attached drive-thru bottle shop, and a good Thai restaurant (Green Chillies, reviewed separately) a couple of minutes' walk away. The owner is genial and can provide advice about where to eat (it was he who advised the Green Chillies). The pool is small but good. Our room was air-conditioned (you use your room key tag to activate the air-conditioning). There is a coin laundry on site, which was very useful to us. The motel is not cheap, but nothing in NT is cheap! A dead cockroach in the cabinet under the sink was an unwelcome surprise, but not unexpected in the tropics. NB: there is no internet service of any kind at The Palms, which was a major inconvenience (we finally went to McDonald's on Smith St in the CBD to take advantage of their free wifi, but that involved a fairly long walk).

Room tip: Rooms seem to be pretty much the same, and we found ours to be quiet
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank dgqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Fairly basic but good sized room [superior hotel room] Nice pool area.
A little disappointed that being on The Esplanade that no room actually looked out to the sea. Were told that our balcony looked out over the gardens - well - some palm tops but mainly rooftops.
Great location - a few minutes walk to city centre/ restaurants/ Coles supermarket/ bus interchange/ deckchair theatre/ Parliament house etc - a few more minutes to Aquascene and Waterfront [Hint - quickest and easiest way to waterfront - out the back gate - cut through Parliament house and take the skyway walk across and go up and down the 5 floor height in the lift] A longer walk to Mindi Markets, Casino, Museum, Botanic Gardens - much easier to take a bus - AC and cheap and can get a full day ticket or a 7 day ticket

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We used their left-luggage service and had bags not arrive. Their quick and courteous help enabled us to track the bag and recover it from the airline. All their handling was on video and easy for them to check on our behalf. Thanks guys!

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank michaeljohn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2014

Palms Motel is a simple motel in a good location. The motel is just outside the city centre but it is easy to walk in Darwin for shopping: it takes about 15 minutes to get to the shopping area and restaurants.

There is a pub across the road from the motel.

The motel is ideally situated for visiting the Botanic Gardens (10 minutes walk), Mindil Beach (15 minutes walk) and Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (30-40 minutes walk along the coast).

If you have a car, there is a car park. At the reception, the owners can call a taxi for you which is useful to get to the airport.

The rooms are a nice size and are clean. The bathroom has a shower. The room and bathroom are cleaned every day. The towels are changed everyday.

The kitchen is basic but absolutely fine for breakfast or having a ready meal using the micro-wave oven. Mugs, plates, glasses ...etc...are provided. There is a fridge and a TV.

The swimming pool is so useful after a hot day walking around.

On your first night, if you arrive after 9pm , inform the owners and they'll tell you where to find the key to your room.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay was spacious and comfortable, close to the city and mindil beach for a evening walk or go to the pub across the road for a beer or a feed or both or to the casino, I'd recommend to anybody and I'd come back for.sure

Date of stay: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Granto1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews