We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anne M
Townsville, Australia

Basic in great location

Review of Palms Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 May 2015
Fairly basic but good sized room [superior hotel room] Nice pool area.
A little disappointed that being on The Esplanade that no room actually looked out to the sea. Were told that our balcony looked out over the gardens - well - some palm tops but mainly rooftops.
Great location - a few minutes walk to city centre/ restaurants/ Coles supermarket/ bus interchange/ deckchair theatre/ Parliament house etc - a few more minutes to Aquascene and Waterfront [Hint - quickest and easiest way to waterfront - out the back gate - cut through Parliament house and take the skyway walk across and go up and down the 5 floor height in the lift] A longer walk to Mindi Markets, Casino, Museum, Botanic Gardens - much easier to take a bus - AC and cheap and can get a full day ticket or a 7 day ticket
Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Smith Hotel Darwin
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$282
  • Hotels.com
    AU$254
  • Official Hotel
0.8 km from Palms Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$360
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$362
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lagoon
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$303
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$332
  • Hotels.com
    AU$332
  • Expedia.com
    AU$332
  • Priceline
    AU$332
1.8 km from Palms Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Hero Shot
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$228
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$246
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$475
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Palms Motel
Pool
Room service
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$132
  • Booking.com
6.7 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cabin with one queen bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$179
  • Booking.com
4.5 km from Palms Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
5
11
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
11
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We used their left-luggage service and had bags not arrive. Their quick and courteous help enabled us to track the bag and recover it from the airline. All their handling was on video and easy for them to check on our behalf. Thanks guys!

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank michaeljohn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2014

Palms Motel is a simple motel in a good location. The motel is just outside the city centre but it is easy to walk in Darwin for shopping: it takes about 15 minutes to get to the shopping area and restaurants.

There is a pub across the road from the motel.

The motel is ideally situated for visiting the Botanic Gardens (10 minutes walk), Mindil Beach (15 minutes walk) and Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (30-40 minutes walk along the coast).

If you have a car, there is a car park. At the reception, the owners can call a taxi for you which is useful to get to the airport.

The rooms are a nice size and are clean. The bathroom has a shower. The room and bathroom are cleaned every day. The towels are changed everyday.

The kitchen is basic but absolutely fine for breakfast or having a ready meal using the micro-wave oven. Mugs, plates, glasses ...etc...are provided. There is a fridge and a TV.

The swimming pool is so useful after a hot day walking around.

On your first night, if you arrive after 9pm , inform the owners and they'll tell you where to find the key to your room.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay was spacious and comfortable, close to the city and mindil beach for a evening walk or go to the pub across the road for a beer or a feed or both or to the casino, I'd recommend to anybody and I'd come back for.sure

Date of stay: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Granto1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Had a very warm welcome.booked in and as I was not going to the airport in the morning .they said I could stay over my booking out time.the room was very clean and had all the basic things,tv,microwave. Kettle,fridge,tea/coffee etc.aircon unit and fan.there is a pub across the road that does very good food.thestaff at PM are very helpful.would recommend this for a stop over.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We found the Palms to be basic but very clean and tidy with helpful, friendly proprietors. Good for those on a budget or with families. On a map it seemed close to town but proved a little far for walking, particularly with heavy bags of groceries (Woolworths being several blocks away). There is an inviting pool and a hotel restaurant across the road if you are not inclined to cook.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews