We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jean-Noel C
UK

Simple and great motel

Review of Palms Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Dec 2014
Palms Motel is a simple motel in a good location. The motel is just outside the city centre but it is easy to walk in Darwin for shopping: it takes about 15 minutes to get to the shopping area and restaurants.

There is a pub across the road from the motel.

The motel is ideally situated for visiting the Botanic Gardens (10 minutes walk), Mindil Beach (15 minutes walk) and Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (30-40 minutes walk along the coast).

If you have a car, there is a car park. At the reception, the owners can call a taxi for you which is useful to get to the airport.

The rooms are a nice size and are clean. The bathroom has a shower. The room and bathroom are cleaned every day. The towels are changed everyday.

The kitchen is basic but absolutely fine for breakfast or having a ready meal using the micro-wave oven. Mugs, plates, glasses ...etc...are provided. There is a fridge and a TV.

The swimming pool is so useful after a hot day walking around.

On your first night, if you arrive after 9pm , inform the owners and they'll tell you where to find the key to your room.
Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Smith Hotel Darwin
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$289
  • Hotels.com
    AU$233
  • Expedia.com
    AU$257
0.8 km from Palms Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Lagoon
AU$390
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$373
  • Agoda.com
    AU$357
  • Expedia.com
    AU$374
0.9 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hero Shot
AU$221
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$230
  • Agoda.com
    AU$205
  • Hotels.com
    AU$257
1.1 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$333
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$389
  • Agoda.com
    AU$309
  • Hotels.com
    AU$389
1.5 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$304
  • Expedia.com
    AU$338
  • Algotels
    AU$289
  • Hotels.com
    AU$338
1.2 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$301
  • Expedia.com
    AU$301
  • Priceline
    AU$284
  • Hotels.com
    AU$301
0.9 km from Palms Motel
Free parking
Pool
AU$403
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$415
  • Expedia.com
    AU$415
  • Hotels.com
    AU$415
1.8 km from Palms Motel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$183
  • Priceline
    AU$171
  • Agoda.com
    AU$168
  • Expedia.com
    AU$182
1.3 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$299
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
  • Algotels
    AU$292
  • Hotels.com
    AU$299
1.2 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
Cabin with one queen bed
AU$133
  • Priceline
    AU$172
  • Agoda.com
    AU$124
  • Expedia.com
    AU$152
4.5 km from Palms Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
5
11
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
11
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay was spacious and comfortable, close to the city and mindil beach for a evening walk or go to the pub across the road for a beer or a feed or both or to the casino, I'd recommend to anybody and I'd come back for.sure

Date of stay: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Granto1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Had a very warm welcome.booked in and as I was not going to the airport in the morning .they said I could stay over my booking out time.the room was very clean and had all the basic things,tv,microwave. Kettle,fridge,tea/coffee etc.aircon unit and fan.there is a pub across the road that does very good food.thestaff at PM are very helpful.would recommend this for a stop over.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We found the Palms to be basic but very clean and tidy with helpful, friendly proprietors. Good for those on a budget or with families. On a map it seemed close to town but proved a little far for walking, particularly with heavy bags of groceries (Woolworths being several blocks away). There is an inviting pool and a hotel restaurant across the road if you are not inclined to cook.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was reasonable cost for Darwin. It had a very nice pool area, which was very welcome after a hot day sight seeing. It was quite convenient for Mindl beach, a bit of a longer walk to the town centre. The room was basic, but was clean, although a gap under the front door did allow cockroaches to pay a visit, though they didn't stay long, I think the room had probably been sprayed. Hotel was nice and quiet at night, so got a good nights sleep. Overall a good choice if on a budget.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManchesterKlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband & I plus our 24 year old daughter stayed at Palms Motel for 2 nights while attending a family wedding in Darwin. We had a family room which was very spacious and very clean. The aircon was reasonably quiet and very efficient. The beds were extremely comfortable too. It was quiet and in a great location close to everything. The pool area is great and I wished we had more time to enjoy it. Yes it is a bit dated and like previous travelers we found we didn't get enough shampoo/conditioner or shower gel for 3 people for 2 days. Unlike another traveler we did have plates and cutlery in our kitchenette! There was an iron in the room too. We weren't disappointed by The Palms as it doesn't misrepresent itself in its' advertising like some hotels we've stayed in. It's a 3 star motel that we'd be happy to stay in again in the future.

Room tip: Our room (21)was tucked in an alcove so did not have the floor to ceiling windows along the walkway. It was therefore more private and also remained darker in the mornings which made sleeping in much easier. We thought this was a bonus.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gillianlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews