We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gillianlf
Melbourne, Australia

Comfy, Clean and Quiet.

Review of Palms Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 July 2013
My husband & I plus our 24 year old daughter stayed at Palms Motel for 2 nights while attending a family wedding in Darwin. We had a family room which was very spacious and very clean. The aircon was reasonably quiet and very efficient. The beds were extremely comfortable too. It was quiet and in a great location close to everything. The pool area is great and I wished we had more time to enjoy it. Yes it is a bit dated and like previous travelers we found we didn't get enough shampoo/conditioner or shower gel for 3 people for 2 days. Unlike another traveler we did have plates and cutlery in our kitchenette! There was an iron in the room too. We weren't disappointed by The Palms as it doesn't misrepresent itself in its' advertising like some hotels we've stayed in. It's a 3 star motel that we'd be happy to stay in again in the future.
Date of stay: July 2013
Room Tip: Our room (21)was tucked in an alcove so did not have the floor to ceiling windows along the...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Smith Hotel Darwin
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$233
  • Expedia.com
    AU$257
0.8 km from Palms Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Lagoon
AU$390
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$374
  • Agoda.com
    AU$357
  • Hotels.com
    AU$373
0.9 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hero Shot
AU$221
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$257
  • Agoda.com
    AU$205
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$333
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$389
  • Agoda.com
    AU$309
  • Hotels.com
    AU$389
1.5 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$304
  • Expedia.com
    AU$338
  • Algotels
    AU$289
  • Hotels.com
    AU$338
1.2 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$301
  • Expedia.com
    AU$301
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$301
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Palms Motel
Free parking
Pool
AU$403
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$415
  • Expedia.com
    AU$415
  • Hotels.com
    AU$415
1.8 km from Palms Motel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$183
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$168
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$299
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
  • Algotels
    AU$292
  • Hotels.com
    AU$299
1.2 km from Palms Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
Cabin with one queen bed
AU$133
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$124
  • Expedia.com
    AU$152
4.5 km from Palms Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
5
11
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
11
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We found this motel via Topend recommendation. To our surprise, it was very very good, clean,quiet, value for money and the owners were most helpful. My family was very happy with the spacious family room we got (2 adults and a 10 yo). I would recommend it as a good place for budget family travellers. Your own kitchen and your own ensuite.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed two weeks at The Palms Motel in Darwin recently (June/July) and although the motel is a little dated in decor and design we found the motel to be quite comfortable - very clean, quiet and friendly, and very close to town (walking distance) and to Mindil Beach.

The first room we stayed in was a bit on the small side for three of us (adults) but in no way uncomfortable in being able to move around. It had a small kitchenette with Microwave, elect frypan, toaster and kettle and coffee making facilities and sink - the only down side to this was that it didn't come with plates or cutlery and we had to go out and buy some eating utensils.

We then moved to a larger room the second week as there was to be four of us staying and we were put into a family suite which had a full size kitchen with everything .

We found the owners/managers of the motel very helpful in everyway - advice on places to visit/tours to do, helpful in things regarding the motel. The cleaning staff were also wonderful and very friendly/helpful.

The price was perfect - Darwin is quite expensive so it was fantastic to find accommodation this comfortable for this price and for it to be SO CLOSE to the city. Even the pub across the road was nice to pop over and have a quite meal at.

We regularly travel to Darwin each year and normally stay with friends but were unable to this year - I would have absolutely no hesitation in staying here again should we need to seek accommodation in Darwin.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Positives: Clean Room, Friendly Staff, DIY Laundry available ($3/cycle), Microwave oven & Toaster, Close to town, without the noise of Mitchell St.
Negatives: The double bed in our room was very short. My feet were hanging over the edge (and I am only 165cm tall). Very Dated, The door and windows are curtained, but let a lot of fluorescent light through at night, so I kept waking up and thinking it was morning. If you like to sleep in a dark room, this hotel is not for you.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraJane88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here from the 24/12/11 to 01/01/12. Although a little on the older side we found the Motel to be comfortable & clean. The housekeeping staff were wonderful...very helpful and friendly. Our room (1bedroom apartment with kitchenette and en-suite) was very roomy and plenty big enough for the three of us, laundry facilities were good, pool clean and the price was very reasonable. Would recommend to anyone after basic, good value accommodation close to Darwin City Centre.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MorayfieldGriffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed there just for a few hours before flying out on a midnight flight back to Sydney. After camping for one week with my husband and parents in the national parks it was a great place to get settled, shower, sleep and chill in the pool. The service was great, its well priced and the rooms are very clean. We managed to get a little apartment, so all of us had enough space. The motel is walking distance to the centre (approx. 15 min.). Highly recommended for short or long stay.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews