We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and ugly”
Review of Capricornia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capricornia Motel
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stayed there only because we arrived at Darwin airport in the middle of the night and wanted to be in bed as soon as possible. Couldn't fall to sleep for long beacuse of old aircon unit working terribly loud. Bed was comfortable and bedsheets crispy clean. But that was the only good thing. Bathroom was rundown, fridge placed very close to the bed. We could open its door not even half way out. Next morning we asked at the reception if there is bus service to take us to the city where we had better accomodation booked. We were told the bus stop is just outside the motel and is leaving in few minutes. We waisted almost 40 min waiting at the bus stop. It didn't come, because it was Saturday local market day and its route was changed. We were misinformed. Eventually, a taxi driver stopped to tell us to go to next stop. We ended up walking all the way to the city in +34C.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricorniaDarwin, Owner at Capricornia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

It is very hard to please all people.

Although our motel is old our rooms are clean with comfy beds, new pillow and more amenities than you would expect from a budget motel.

We explained where the bus stop was on a Saturday and suggested we call them a taxi as they had luggage and buses can be tricky on the weekend.

The guest was rude and did not listen to our advice, unfortunately if guests do not listen to advice they can not blame us for what happens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

This budget motel offers great value accommodation. Although the building is old it offers comfortable beds, tv, great aircon, large bathroom, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities, luggage rack and wardrobe. My room contained both a double size and single bed. I considered this great value for only A$99 for single/double occupancy.
Reception is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jean patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.5 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 36 in Darwin
400 reviews
3.4 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
329 reviews
2.6 km away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
947 reviews
0.6 km away
Paravista Motel
Paravista Motel
#22 of 36 in Darwin
132 reviews
4.3 km away
Hi Way Inn Motel
Hi Way Inn Motel
#23 of 36 in Darwin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricornia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricornia Motel

Address: 3 Kellaway St | Fannie Bay, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $72 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capricornia Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run budget motel in a fantastic location surrounded by many local amenities. Opposite the beach and close to the Museum we are also walking distance to all Darwin's most popular seaside clubs, Ski Club, Sailing Club and Trailer Boat Club. We are walking distance to the world famous Minsk Beach Markets held every Thursday during our beautiful dry season and also the local Saturday morning Parap Markets, flowing with fresh Asian food and produce. Our rooms as basic, always affordable, and cleaned daily. We have always had a regular clientele that have become like family over the many years and we always have room for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Capricornia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing