We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in a quiet area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paravista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paravista Motel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Victoria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value in a quiet area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We arrived after two and a half days in cramped conditions on the Ghan to find a welcoming large bedroom and bathroom and balcony. The facilties were clean, bed comfortable and the aircondioner relatively new and efficient. A key is provided which is necessary to operate the aircondioner. There is also a fan in the room. Tea, coffee a small amount of crockery and cutlery, an electric jug, refrigerator and microwave are provided. The guest laundry, on the first floor, costs $2 per load, there is also an iron and ironing board available in the laundry.
Parap Village Tavern is a short walk where the Raging Bull restaurant serves very good meals. A block further on is the Parap Village and Saturday market, both well worth a visit. The Motel Reception closes at 7pm however Dale, the Manager, is very hepful in making suitable arrangements for late arrivals to access your room. There is no breakfast available. Onsite car parking is provided. There is no lift/elevator in the motel.
The location of the Motel enables easy access to public transport and provides a quiet relaxing base for a visit to Darwin.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontyVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    45
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
55
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

My husband and I stayed there for two nights, and it was ok. The room is no frills but nice looking and clean; the bed comfortable. The swimming pool is very small, but it is pleasant for a dip to refresh (although they should empty a huge and very full ashtray...). The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, and the other few guests staying there were nice and quiet. In addition, it is well located, a few steps from Parap market which is a nice area. Overall, nice stay and a good value -compared to the prices of hotels in Darwin and the generally poor reviews.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyb2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

There were quite a few of us that stayed at this motel whilst in Darwin for a wedding. I couldn't fault this motel at all. The young couple who run it are absolutely brilliant and were incredibly helpful. The rooms were impeccably clean and the pool area was a great place to relax with a few drinks in the afternoon. The motel was quiet and situated in an ideal part of Darwin with a very good pub just down the road with amazing food and don't miss the kareoke on a Friday which was a really good night when we were there. The motel is also very close to town and the airport which was great for us too. Parap was a great little spot to stay and we fell in love with the motel and it's laid back atmosphere as well as with the owners who were such genuine people and a pleasure to deal with...we all can't wait until we head back to Darwin and we know we'll all be staying at this little establishment again.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

I just returned from a week in the Northern Territories. WHen planning my trip I was stunned to discover how expensive Oz accomodation is which by world standards is below average. For the first time in my life I opted for a motel and decided on the Paravista Motel in the Parap Village just 7 mins from city centre. I was pleasantly surprised. The place was neat and comfortable. I took the trip-sharing room even through there were just 2 of us. We had everything we needed, TV with cable channels, good bathroom ensuite, small balcony, aircon which was very responsive to temp adjustment, good sized fridge with ice and ice water. Tea and coffee making.
The place was quiet, I think just 20 rooms, the pool looked good. Good secure car park. All in all not a bad stay. I booked through wotif.com.au for AUD 119 for the trip-share. I think the double room is AUD109.
If you stay over the weekend do pop over to the Parap markets on a Sat morning. Also try the bakery and Parap fine foods andthe butchery - all good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

My lady and I stayed in the Paravista during July 2008, and this place barely reaches a 2½ star rating. The building was built just before Cyclone Tracy destroyed Darwin on Christmas Day 1974 - and its obvious it suffered severe damage, and was repaired, and those repairs, plus 34 yrs of age, are really showing. This place would rate as the most run-down motel I've ever stayed in. Shelves were broken, a heap of lights and switches didn't work, locks were worn and wonky, the bathroom was tired and falling apart.
Wotif site currently says the place is "newly renovated" - but the statement is undated. If they have renovated since July 2008, my comments aren't applicable.
This motel, in July 2008, was managed by a young couple - and the new owners obviously didn't have any spare $$ to do the refurbishment needed - and the previous owners had run the place into the ground.
However, the young couple were keen and helpful, the linen was changed regularly and rapidly, and the place cleaned regularly as well. One of the things that stunned us was - no lifts - in a 4 or 5 storey building. My partner suffers from arthritic knees and those regular treks up and down stairs were a torment. The Paravista location is quiet and convenient to the Stuart Hwy, but about 4 kms out of the city centre. Bus services in Darwin are very good, and the bus passes by, on the Stuart Hwy all day, and up to late at night. The Parap shopping village is within walking distance (700-800m) - a shopping centre with a newsagent, bank, several cafes, clothing shops, butcher, laundrette and a small grocery store. The Paravista was fairly cheap ($139 night for a double - much less in the off season), parking space was good - there was a small balcony accessible from the room via a sliding door (which had a broken lock), and the outlook is over palms and big trees. Possums are in these trees, but they don't bother the Paravista. The swimming pool is quite nice, is kept clean, and has a BBQ area.
The airport is within 8kms, and the RAAF and other visiting military share the airport with civilian air traffic - so watch out for excessive aircraft noise if the RAAF jets are conducting exercises. All in all, a very average motel in 2008 - that, if it HAS been renovated in 2009 - would come up to above average. I'd recommend this motel as a cheap stay, as long as you weren't expecting too much.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onetrack139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.1 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.1 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#26 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.5 km away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#17 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.5 km away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
3.4 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paravista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paravista Motel

Property: Paravista Motel
Address: Holiday Units 5 Mackillop St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price range (per night): $86 - $147
Hotel Class:3 star — Paravista Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Paravista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing