We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paravista Motel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
USD 154*
USD 137*
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
USD 193*
USD 157*
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Pandanas(Darwin)(Great Value!)
USD 191*
USD 148*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks Elan Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
USD 145*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra on the Esplanade(Darwin)(Great Value!)
USD 186*
USD 170*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Palms City Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
USD 141*
USD 101*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront(Darwin)(Great Value!)
USD 156*
USD 126*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport(Darwin)(Great Value!)
USD 121*
USD 110*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 169*
USD 162*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 153*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
35
46
35
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
46
35
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparap marketsmindil beachclean poolshort walkbar fridgebus stopvisit darwinground floortea coffeefirst floorhire carcomfortable staycentral darwinaccommodationbalconytvbbq
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2009

My husband and I stayed there for two nights, and it was ok. The room is no frills but nice looking and clean; the bed comfortable. The swimming pool is very small, but it is pleasant for a dip to refresh (although they should empty a huge and very full ashtray...). The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, and the other few guests staying there were nice and quiet. In addition, it is well located, a few steps from Parap market which is a nice area. Overall, nice stay and a good value -compared to the prices of hotels in Darwin and the generally poor reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyb2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

There were quite a few of us that stayed at this motel whilst in Darwin for a wedding. I couldn't fault this motel at all. The young couple who run it are absolutely brilliant and were incredibly helpful. The rooms were impeccably clean and the pool area was a great place to relax with a few drinks in the afternoon. The motel was quiet and situated in an ideal part of Darwin with a very good pub just down the road with amazing food and don't miss the kareoke on a Friday which was a really good night when we were there. The motel is also very close to town and the airport which was great for us too. Parap was a great little spot to stay and we fell in love with the motel and it's laid back atmosphere as well as with the owners who were such genuine people and a pleasure to deal with...we all can't wait until we head back to Darwin and we know we'll all be staying at this little establishment again.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I just returned from a week in the Northern Territories. WHen planning my trip I was stunned to discover how expensive Oz accomodation is which by world standards is below average. For the first time in my life I opted for a motel and decided on the Paravista Motel in the Parap Village just 7 mins from city centre. I was pleasantly surprised. The place was neat and comfortable. I took the trip-sharing room even through there were just 2 of us. We had everything we needed, TV with cable channels, good bathroom ensuite, small balcony, aircon which was very responsive to temp adjustment, good sized fridge with ice and ice water. Tea and coffee making.
The place was quiet, I think just 20 rooms, the pool looked good. Good secure car park. All in all not a bad stay. I booked through wotif.com.au for AUD 119 for the trip-share. I think the double room is AUD109.
If you stay over the weekend do pop over to the Parap markets on a Sat morning. Also try the bakery and Parap fine foods andthe butchery - all good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My lady and I stayed in the Paravista during July 2008, and this place barely reaches a 2½ star rating. The building was built just before Cyclone Tracy destroyed Darwin on Christmas Day 1974 - and its obvious it suffered severe damage, and was repaired, and those repairs, plus 34 yrs of age, are really showing. This place would rate as the most run-down motel I've ever stayed in. Shelves were broken, a heap of lights and switches didn't work, locks were worn and wonky, the bathroom was tired and falling apart.
Wotif site currently says the place is "newly renovated" - but the statement is undated. If they have renovated since July 2008, my comments aren't applicable.
This motel, in July 2008, was managed by a young couple - and the new owners obviously didn't have any spare $$ to do the refurbishment needed - and the previous owners had run the place into the ground.
However, the young couple were keen and helpful, the linen was changed regularly and rapidly, and the place cleaned regularly as well. One of the things that stunned us was - no lifts - in a 4 or 5 storey building. My partner suffers from arthritic knees and those regular treks up and down stairs were a torment. The Paravista location is quiet and convenient to the Stuart Hwy, but about 4 kms out of the city centre. Bus services in Darwin are very good, and the bus passes by, on the Stuart Hwy all day, and up to late at night. The Parap shopping village is within walking distance (700-800m) - a shopping centre with a newsagent, bank, several cafes, clothing shops, butcher, laundrette and a small grocery store. The Paravista was fairly cheap ($139 night for a double - much less in the off season), parking space was good - there was a small balcony accessible from the room via a sliding door (which had a broken lock), and the outlook is over palms and big trees. Possums are in these trees, but they don't bother the Paravista. The swimming pool is quite nice, is kept clean, and has a BBQ area.
The airport is within 8kms, and the RAAF and other visiting military share the airport with civilian air traffic - so watch out for excessive aircraft noise if the RAAF jets are conducting exercises. All in all, a very average motel in 2008 - that, if it HAS been renovated in 2009 - would come up to above average. I'd recommend this motel as a cheap stay, as long as you weren't expecting too much.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onetrack139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews