We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Novotel
AU$329
Fully refundable before Sun, 9 June
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
AU$329
Fully refundable before Sun, 9 June
StayForLong
AU$321
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Cat D
Tamborine Mountain, Australia

Friendly staff sadly a bit a let down for a Novotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 July 2022via mobile
We needed a place to stay in between leaving hospital following an accident & flying home. We choose Novotel at the airport based upon reputation, reasonable price & close by the airport for our 4 night stay. All hotels in Darwin are seriously overpriced. We asked for & were given a disabled room on the 3rd floor, what we did not expect was to be staying in a building site! There was nothing about that on the booking.com site, it was mentioned on the hotel website however. We found out on arrival with our bags that there was no decent access from the tiny on site car park to the reception area. Thankfully we had a wheel chair on loan. The beds were comfortable in a rather shabby room clearly in need of updating. The bathroom was small but manageable. The Accor group do need to seriously take into account paying guests using wheel chairs. Over the weekend we had to go across to the Mercure for food, again there were no wheel chair ramps crossing the building site so one of the workman helped us. The next day a new path had been made with fewer obstacles to traverse. The food options are reasonable. My partner went to collect our evening meals to avoid the surcharge. The housekeeping staff helped us to increase the rooms meagre four pillows to six & the waitstaff were helpful in the restaurant open Monday - Friday only at the Novotel.
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: Check the hotel website for updated information, don’t always believe what facilities that are...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$380
  • Hotels.com
    AU$422
  • Expedia.com
    AU$422
  • Priceline
    AU$422
7.0 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
  • Vio.com
    AU$124
  • Priceline
    AU$150
3.2 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
AdinaHotels.com
AU$325
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$332
  • Priceline
    AU$332
  • Expedia.com
    AU$332
7.6 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Pool
Restaurant
The Smith Hotel Darwin
Booking.com
AU$282
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$254
  • Agoda.com
    AU$246
  • Priceline
    AU$317
7.5 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$362
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$415
  • Agoda.com
    AU$308
  • Expedia.com
    AU$415
7.9 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$251
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$223
  • Vio.com
    AU$214
  • Hotels.com
    AU$251
7.1 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Hero Shot
Booking.com
AU$202
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$228
  • Vio.com
    AU$171
  • Priceline
    AU$190
7.6 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$477
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$477
  • Expedia.com
    AU$477
  • Priceline
    AU$477
7.8 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$172
  • Agoda.com
    AU$133
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
2.5 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$320
  • Agoda.com
    AU$296
  • Priceline
    AU$344
7.1 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
76
182
135
62
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
182
135
62
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle bedroom suite late checkout reception staff suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2022 via mobile

I will start with the positives . The hotel is very near the airport . It’s comfortable and bedrooms have been refurbished. The staff are very pleasant and helpful . If a bed overnight is required from the airport it is a good option .
However we had booked a few months ago . We are going on a tour and decided that a couple of days r&r before the tour started would be good sitting by the pool . We appreciate that being so close to the airport there would be some noise . We were not notified at the time of booking that a large redevelopment was in progress around the entire perimeter of the hotel or that the restaurant and bar would be closed at the weekend . Those facilities are available at the Mercure Hotel five minutes walk away . The building site which is operational Monday to Friday 7 am - 5 pm is noisy with large machinery and jack hammer working . It will be excellent when completed but not great sitting by the pool currently and a board with an apology at reception isn’t really fair when guests should be informed when booking .

Room tip: Check on progress of development and whether facilities are open before booking .
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank donaldson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2022

We arrived in Darwin at 2am in the morning on the 1st so booked a room for 2 nights so to have a good start to our holiday .
The reception had no idea how to check in customers was our first red flag.
by the time we got our room and she found our details ( I'm a gold member of ACCOR)
it was around 30 minute later .
So it was great to get into our room and get to sleep .
that's when the fun started we had someone drunks come into the room at 5.30am so scary woke up with such a fright and said get out your in the wrong room .
Rang down to reception only to find out the same girl who checked us in she said sorry she gave them our room and key card by mistake WTF. how did this happen .
Needless to say no sleep that nigh and no help the next day .
just sorry it will not happen again

Room tip: Lock your door OR LOOK OUT
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2022

Overall the hotel was very good. Clean, well appointed room, comfortable bed and good customer service. However, having to walk over to the Mercure for meals and bar service was a turnoff. Especially breakfast when I had a very early start. There was no prior warning and the account did not reflect the lack of restaurant service on the weekend. I was also surprised that the substantial tariff did not include breakfast. I know the hotels is undergoing major a upgrade, but arrangements need to be made to provide on site meal and bar service 7 days a week.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Graeham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2022

I was shocked to see such a "basic" room in a brand name such as Novotel. It would be what I'd expect of Ibis?? The pool was closed (I realise this happens), there was no restaurant- we had to go across the street to the Mercure. There was a meagre table to write on. A very small room with a quaint bed. The toilet and shower were cramped and tiny.

Room tip: Make sure the restaurant and pool are open! Get a room with balcony if you must stay here.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dollybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2022 via mobile

DO NOT EAT HERE....
The place is atrocious...
Overpriced, mediocre, small servings, bad service.
Just to name a few of the issues, we spent $100 on our meals and had to get Mcdonalds on the way home be ause we couldn't finish our meals... after letting the staff know our disappointment they tried to sell us desert, which we declined.
After paying the lady chased me down as we were leaving causing embarrassment as every one was looking g at us like we were leaving without paying then after she checked with the duty manager he pointed out payment had actually gone through.. no apologies just a big F-U- and relive is of our money... we WILL NOT BE BACK... I COULD NOT RECOMMEND THE PLACE... ONLY RECOMENDATION IS STAY AWAY...

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jasonrH9712GL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews