We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Terence_Low
Port Vila, Vanuatu

Pleasant

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2019via mobile
We overnighted twice there. The hotel is conveniently located within a few minutes walk from the airport. Service is great and the staff are quite accommodating - very friendly. They also have apartments for larger families who prefer to cook their own meals.

The hotel restaurant is however across the road at the Mercure Resort.

Good value for money.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kayte S, General Manager at Novotel Darwin Airport, responded to this review
Responded 26 Mar 2019
Hi Terence_Low,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Kayte Staraj
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
AU$285
  • Expedia.com
    AU$285
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$285
  • Priceline
7.3 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Restaurant
Room service
Lagoon
AU$428
  • Hotels.com
    AU$410
  • Agoda.com
    AU$372
  • Expedia.com
    AU$409
7.1 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$279
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$279
  • Algotels
    AU$254
  • Hotels.com
    AU$279
7.3 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$309
Fully refundable
  • Travelodge.com.au
    AU$273
  • Destinia.com
    AU$240
  • Expedia.com
    AU$309
7.3 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Pool
Restaurant
AU$314
  • Expedia.com
    AU$349
  • Vio.com
    AU$236
  • Hotels.com
    AU$349
7.0 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$244
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$368
  • Priceline
    AU$277
  • Trip.com
    AU$244
7.6 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$389
  • Expedia.com
    AU$432
  • Vio.com
    AU$356
  • Hotels.com
    AU$432
7.9 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$323
  • Expedia.com
    AU$323
  • Algotels
    AU$280
  • Priceline
    AU$323
7.8 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
AU$298
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$298
  • Prestigia.com
    AU$262
  • Priceline
    AU$298
7.8 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Pool
Room service
Cabin with one queen bed
AU$139
  • Priceline
    AU$185
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
2.5 km from Novotel Darwin Airport
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Darwin
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
127
188
135
63
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
188
135
63
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle bedroom suite late checkout reception staff suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2019

fantastic staff and they were ready for my arrival everything was in order nice tidy comfortable rooms and awsome bed to slep in as well the loong foon chinese reasteraunt is the best you must book a table or you might miss out on a seat and very good breakfast accross the road at the mercure hotel my stay was short but a comfortable one the big plus is only a 5 minute walk from the airport or if its raining you can get the complimenty bus servce to and from the airport .

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank statewide57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kayte S, General Manager at Novotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Hi statewide57,

Thank you for your great review and your special mention of our team.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Kayte Staraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2019

We recently stayed at the Novotel Darwin airport 16th Feb 2019. We were overnighting in Darwin between flights and wanted somewhere close to the airport.

Unfortunately, the stay was VERY disappointing.

The Novotel Darwin is in a great location. A short walk from the airport. Reception is inviting and clean, and staff were very professional and courteous.

However, the room we were allocated was possibly the worst we have stayed in, for a very long time!

Upon first entering the room, we noticed a very strong smell of mould. We turned on the air con and this seemed to mask the smell (a bit).

We then noticed a lamp in the room with a shade that was covered in black mould. We took it out of the room and left it in the hallway, advising housekeeping that we had done so.

Furniture in the room was generally battered around and in a poor state, we even pulled back the bed sheets to see if they were clean (thankfully - yes).

There were discoloured water stains running down the bedroom wall, adjacent to the bathroom, from what appears to be a plumbing leak from the room above.

When we moved a corner chair in the bedroom, we found an old discarded coke bottle and d u s t. We did not dare look under the beds.

Later that evening, we rather unpleasantly discovered damp, worn, and torn carpet on the floor along the entire length of the bedroom wall adjacent to the bathroom (when one of us stepped out of bed)

In the bathroom, not only were fixtures old and worn, but there was mould covered grout throughout the shower area.

The interconnecting door, between the rooms, had a hole, where the lock should have been. We had to prop our bags against it, for security.

In the evening, we also had to endure hours of very loud dance music from a function downstairs (the balcony windows were vibrating to the bass beat). We had to retire early for the night in preparation for flights the next day, but couldn’t get any sleep (even with ear plugs). At around 10:45pm we rang reception to ask if there was a nightclub on the premises, only to be informed that there was a function downstairs which was causing the noise. They said the function was scheduled to finish at 11:00pm, so we were relieved when it finally stopped at 11:15pm. Unfortunately, reception did not have the courtesy to advise guests when checking-in that a function was planned and to expect the noise (or to apologise for the inconvenience). For a hotel at an airport, where guests just want to get some rest between flights, this sort of activity into the night doesn’t seem appropriate.

Also, be prepared to walk across the road for breakfast at the adjacent Mercure, as no facilities are available within Novotel. The buffet selection was below average (not what you would expect for a Novotel), and hope you don’t mind the occasional strand of hair with your scrambled eggs OR having to pay an additional $7.00 for an omelette.

We were Platinum Accor members for over a decade, however due to a decline in quality and maintenance of a number of ACCOR properties in many countries over the years, we have since moved on to other chains like Quest (Aust/NZ), Residence Inn (USA), Somerset (Asia), Intercontinental and Marriott/Intercontinental (Asia/Pacific)

The room that we were given has to rate as one of the 3 worst rooms (accor) that we have ever stayed in. Our 3 worst in order were
1. Novotel Oasis Cairns
2. Novotel Darwin airport
3. ibis Antananarivo (Madagascar)

Very disappointed. That is what $166 will buy you for 1 night at Novotel Darwin Airport.

Room tip: Stay elsewhere!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank World_Travelwriters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kayte S, General Manager at Novotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Dear World_Travelwriters,

Thank you for your detailed review.

I do wish that you had advised us that you were so disappointed with your stay whilst you were with us; I am sure we could have done something to try and improve your experience.

I am so sorry that we let you down on every level, however I do thank you for passing on your comments so that I can share this with the team as we strive to improve our services to our valuable guests.

Many apologies again World_Travelwriters.

Kind regards

Kayte Staraj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2019

Perfect location close to the airport, friendly guest service staff, and quiet rooms with a nice view. Only stayed one night at this hotel, but I have stayed previously and the staff always make it an easy and enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paul_M1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kayte S, General Manager at Novotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Hi Paul_M1972,

Thank you so much for your review and for your special mention of our great team.

We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay and we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Kayte Staraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2019 via mobile

I’d arrived after midnight and checked into this hotel. Audrey?was superb in making the check-in quick and efficient. She even set up a wake up call for me early in the morning. Seeing that I spent less than four hours in the hotel, I did not take advantage of any of hotel amenities. The room itself was large and the bathroom even larger but it felt outdated.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Raja8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kayte S, General Manager at Novotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Hi Raja8888,

Thank you for your feedback and your special mention of Audrey; I will be sure to pass this on.

We do hope that you may get the chance to stay a little longer next time you are in Darwin.

Kind regards
Kayte Staraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019

A short walk from the terminal brings you to the rather basic Novotel Darwin Airport. Only one person on duty and six groups waiting to check in, the room was basic, no frills and if you wanted a bar or a meal it was round the corner and over the rode to the equally basic Mercure where the food was pretty basic as well.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kayte S, General Manager at Novotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Hi Ron B,

Thank you for your comments and I do apologies that our facilities did not meet your expectation.

We do have a restaurant at the Novotel- Loong Fong Chineses Restaurant which is located by the pool- I am sorry we did not point this out to you.

We do hope you will visit again Ron B.

Kind regards
Kayte Staraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews