We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
The Fairy Wrens of the Top End

Laurie knew the locations of the birds. He was also very knowledgeable of the environment and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
CurlewBirds
Laurie Ross is a fantastic guide

He absolutely knew where the birds were. He spotted a black falcon as we were whizzing down the... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2018
TruthCalifornia
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alice springs top end birders species riding nature kakadu nt
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Laurie knew the locations of the birds. He was also very knowledgeable of the environment and history of the areas. Laurie took much patience in identifying the birds. We felt the accomodations & food were good. Hope to come back to bird with Laurie in other areas of Australia.

Thank CurlewBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

He absolutely knew where the birds were. He spotted a black falcon as we were whizzing down the road. He also chose great places to eat and to stop for breaks.

Thank TruthCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Have just returned from a stunning 7 day tour of the Top End with Laurie. He knows this area and its birds inside out and is generous and patient with his guests. More than 200 species were seen over seven days, including one day where we saw 9 different finches.Having looked for many of these species for myself, I appreciated the local knowledge and the hours of searching that made that experience possible. Laurie is thorough and professional in every way. He is generous with his knowledge and gifted with extraordinary eyesight and hearing. Based on my experience, anyone fortunate enough to have him him for a guide will not be disappointed.

Thank geoffatwood14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie R, Owner at Tracks Birding & Photography Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thanks for your kind words Geoff, it was a trip that’s going to be hard to beat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a private 7 day tour with Laurie. It was a fabulous experience. Laurie is remarkable in his ability to locate the target birds. This was a photography tour and Laurie was very generous in passing on tips to help improve our photography. We are looking forward to another trip with Laurie in the future.

1  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

I have found the website for Tracks birding very helpful for planning our birding trip to the NT next month. Laurie has shared his stunning collection of bird images alongside detailed notes on where to start looking for the special birds of the region. Much appreciated and thank you.

Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We spent two weeks in the Top End and around Alice this month, and used Laurie's on-line guides to help us in our birding efforts. Amazingly helpful, they clearly showed us where to look and how to find some tricky stuff. Believe me, the Mangrove Robin in exactly where he says in the Darwin mangroves. One of our highlights was parrots at dawn at the Farmer's Dam on the Santa Teresa road at Alice Springs, and we would never have found it without Laurie's gen. If he as good in person as his write-ups, he shouldn't be missed.

Thank nuthatch_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie R, Owner at Tracks Birding & Photography Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thanks for the kind words, great to hear you Trip was successful! Hopefully one day you can come along on tour with me. Laurie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Money well spent. Laurie is incredibly knowledgeable and his passion for birding really shows. This guy is the real deal! He is very engaging and my wife and I truly enjoyed our time with him. We learned so much and the best part was the fact that we ticked about 7 birds off our bucket list...all in a single day. Highly recommended. We will book again and, time permitting, would love to try an extended tour.

Thank Gold207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie R, Owner at Tracks Birding & Photography Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Glad you had an awesome day guys, it was a pleasure showing you around my amazing back yard. Thank you for making the effort to do a review. Laurie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We have birded with a good number of guides over the years, including some very well known ‘stars’. Laurie tops them all easily. We spent two weeks with him in Alice Springs, Kathrine, Kakadu, Darwin, Cairns and the Tablelands. He is everything you would hope to see in a bird guide: very knowledgeable about birds in general, knows where to find them, recognizes bird songs and calls fantastically, knows how to approach them and how to show them to us in a way that would make it easy to obtain great photos. He has great relationship with many local birders and has used those relationships to get tips on where rare birds could be found.

As an example, he would hear a bird call while driving on the highway at 130 km/hr, would be able to notice that bird camouflaged in a bush, and turn around in time to show it to us.

In addition, Laurie was a pleasure to spend time with. He was friendly, interesting, and knowledgeable about insects, reptiles, fauna and local history. As a nature photographer, he provided us with great photography tips.

Thanks to Laurie, we have exceeded all expectations to find and photograph birds by over 50%!

Thank MDbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This is a very helpful guide used it all the time on our visit to Cairns and Atherton Tablelands. It is so helpful in identifying the birds.

Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie R, Owner at Tracks Birding & Photography Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to do a review, Its great to hear you found my guide useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Wish we had found Laurie's 'on the cheap bird guides' before Katherine/Victoria River. However his guides for Darwin and Kakadu were excellent and extremely helpful. Having been on a guided tour two years ago we knew where and what we wanted to see, but his notes were detailed and very generous considering the fact that bird and photography tours are his business. Still didn't find the Purple-crowned Fairy-wren!

1  Thank bridges48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie R, Owner at Tracks Birding & Photography Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for the review, you will have to come back as you just have to see a Purple-crowned Fairy-wren!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews