We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little closer to heaven...”
Review of Longitude 131

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longitude 131
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Lots of people visit the "rock" or Uluru. And it is absolutely worth a visit. If you make the trip, you have several choices, all except one inside Yulara, the resort town near Uluru. There is one notable exception: Longitude 131. Although owned by the same company as the rest of the resort, this pearl is something quite extraordinary.

We spent three nights and loved every minute of it. I was a little apprehensive of the "All inclusive" (which usually means cheap buffets and terribly bad wines/drinks), but we were positively (very positively) surprised.

The kitchen is out of this world (even as vegetarians we were stunned by the quality of the food served!) and the combination of food and matching wines from Australia & New Zealand is amazing.

The rooms ('tents') are beautiful and the view is priceless!

A comment with regards to the price (which is steep). When I say all inclusive, it really is so, all the tours, foods, drinks are part of the package and in the end, given the impressions, it is a price worth paying. Uluru is not a place you visit regularly, so live a little… :)

I would love to have given a 5-star rating, but a botched lunch during one of our excursions (even the chips were "meaty") draws down the final rating.

Room Tip: Don't worry, all 15 tents are amazing. We had tent 1, the one furthest away from the main tent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 499 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

I'm not sure which we enjoyed the most... the contagious, friendly enthusiasm of the staff, the gorgeous views from virtually every point at the resort, the top quality foods and wines, or the well-appointed and comfortable individually-themed rooms and generous amenities... the initial price is steep, yes, but when you consider the food, the drinks, the staff and the physical resort itself, it's completely worth every penny.

We were the only guests on our flight arriving at Ayers Rock and the red carpet was definitely rolled out for us. The personal service made us feel like VIPs. The carefully limited lunch menu had several items that thrilled all 5 of us (not an easy feat) and the quality of the food (freshness/preparation/presentation) was top notch. Later we met other interesting and well-traveled guests from all over the world who couldn't say enough about the place. The staff was knowledgable about pairing wine with food and really took the time to get to know our family's preferences over our short 3-day stay. In fact, they went above and beyond what was necessary, for example, by gifting our son with his favorite bottle of dessert wine, or - after picking us up after a morning exploring in town, offering to take our family on an impromptu visit to an offsite camel farm where we were given carrots to feed the surprisingly affectionate camels - and even got to see a baby kangaroo who was rescued from his poor motor-stricken mother's pouch. Thrilled with our day which had started out watching the sun rise and going on an early morning hike, we ended it with an evening under the (shooting!) stars and a delicious 5-course meal, being serenaded by a didgeridoo master and later treated to a lesson in astronomy, viewing several planets (and their moons) and constellations. The whole resort is spectacular and meticulously maintained....the staff extremely knowledgable, courteous and friendly... the location is hard to beat and the connection to nature gave us many "wow" and "ahaaa" moments that we'll never forget. The only thing I can think of to improve the resort would be to equip the air conditioners with more power as they had a hard time keeping the tents cool in the 42ºC summer heat. Granted, most weeks won't reach that temperature. Otherwise, this vacation was truly a dream find for some VERY discerning guests, who met other interesting, enjoyable guests from all over the world, and who were made to feel like royalty during their entire stay! Every experience should be like this!

Room Tip: Every room is unique in adornments. Take the time to read about the history in yours. **This is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TodaysTravelerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My husband and myself stayed at this luxury lodge for 3 nights. The location is excellent and the trips were well organised .... however ....
For the price of the rooms I would expect the service to be better. I am a vegetarian and every evening I had to remind the staff as there was no alternative offered on the menu. The food for a vegetarian was not that inspiring and pretty bland. We stayed at another luxury lodge hotel after this location and the chef with 15 mins notice came up with a choice of 4 main courses and starters and following evenings the vegetarian menu was already available ... that is service. Additionally the 1 day we had lunch at the hotel we had finished our drinks and the waitress took away our plates, brought the dessert menu and then brought our desserts and never once offered us another drink. Granted the staff say 'help yourself' to drinks but when you do the staff come and take over which to be honest is confusing either we can help ourselves or we can not? It made us feel like naughty children. After the trips when we arrived back at the lodge we were told you may not have a full choice of breakfast / lunch so why doesn't the hotel cater for these times .... just some minor frustrations which does not make this a rating of excellent in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PushkinExpatinBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Beautiful resort, lovely friendly attentive staff, great food and wine, but not quite up to scratch for the price.
All the other reviews are spot on, but we were disappointed with our room, there are only a couple with 'lesser' views and we landed one of these, probably because we wanted twin beds. The twin beds were tiny and not very comfortable. I get the Eco thing, but when my pillowcase has mascara stains on it, it should be changed, Eco or not. Room cleaning was substandard, bins not emptied, toiletries not replaced, and only 2 hangers in the tiny closet. Sure people don't stay long but most are on longer trips and might want to hang a few things up and we certainly needed more than one teeny tiny bottle of shower gel for 3 nights.
Tours were good, staff friendly and informative, but the bus was appalling. Old, uncomfortable, falling to pieces and air con that hardly worked. Also, I have to admit that with almost full occupancy, the tours become a little less luxurious than maybe one would expect for a 2000 AUD a night hotel. 24 people being shifted everywhere isn't particularly VIP and the sunset and sunrise tours are just the same as every other Uluru tourist, only with better food and drink. Not necessarily their fault as the park rules are strict, but given the hotels price/status, I had kind of expected a little more. Oh and the pool is pretty tiny. But they race up and give you iced water which is a nice touch!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguinwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

From the pick up at th airport till the drop off 3 days later this luxury lodge was nearly perfect.
The food was outstanding, the rooms ("tents") were beautifull and the organised trips excellent.On the first night we saw the sunset over Uluru with a following dinner under the stars.
on the second day we travelled to the Kata Tjuta, saw wild camels and an emu, the afternnon trip was again to the Uluru for a walk into the history of the Anangu.Third morning began with a sunrise tour, unfortunatly without the sun, a walk to the Mutijulu waterhole and a visit to the Anangu culture center.
Especially Trevor was an excellent guide with all his insights to the culture of the aboriginals and he can tell storys very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
2.8 km away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
2.5 km away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
2.0 km away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
2.0 km away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longitude 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longitude 131

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $2,752 - $3,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Longitude 131 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping certainly doesn’t come more glamorous nor the view from the ‘tent’ more spectacular than this. At Longitude 131°, a gathering of luxury pavilions overlooking Uluru, the vibe is intimate and civilised. The desert base fans out from the cool sanctuary of the Dune House, site of lounging, cocktails and Rock gazing. Dine on contemporary cuisine infused with indigenous flavours overlooking the nation’s spiritual heart or under a glittering canopy of stars at Table 131°. In the spirit of the original pioneers, relax after a day’s exploring in a tent recreated for today's traveller with a swag of mod cons. The comforts of the lodge are offset by discovery of the World Heritage listed wilderness of Uluru-Kata Tjuta, explored on a series of signature guided encounters. Longitude 131° is a place to really feel that the most desirable luxuries of today are infinite time, endless space and the sweet sound of silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Longitude 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longitude 131 Hotel Yulara
Longitude 131 Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing