We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
USD 413
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Hotels.com
USD 413
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Destinia.com
USD 377
View deal
CheapTicketsUSD 413
TravelocityUSD 413
Orbitz.comUSD 413
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,573)
Filter reviews
4,573 results
Traveller rating
1,672
1,717
794
235
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,672
1,717
794
235
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace room ayers rock dinner buffet superior room ilkari restaurant lobby bar sounds of silence dinner tali wiru red centre public areas room was large main restaurant town centre remote location kata tjuta hired a car sunrise tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,977 - 1,982 of 4,573 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms were nice and definitely nicest place to stay in Uluru but the breakfast buffet was what really stood out. Great selection of food and the ability to get things made for you including amazing omelettes which we loved. The service at the hotel was great and we had no issues. One slight issue we had was having our Accor card issued with the correct points afterwards but this was rectified over the phone.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rhrogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Nothing was too difficult for the staff when we arrived at the Sails. We were greeted with a sparkling apple juice with lemon myrtle and directed to reception. There the helpful staff organised our check-in very efficiently and then gave us directions to our room. As we only had one bag, we took it with us. We entered our room and the kids just wowed!! Sails is a short walk into the resort town square where there is the tourist info centre, two great cafes, a wok shop, an IGA, post office and several tourist shops. The front office staff were extremely helpful and no question seemed too silly for them. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshThew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2016

So, Uluru, Divine, lovely, amazing.
An incredible experience.
Unfortunately, we booked in April to get accommodation in July (peak time)
Nothing available - everything booked out (our preference would have been an apartment) the only place left was Sails, which was over $450 per night.
It was a lot of money for us, but with no other options, we hung the expense and booked it for three nights.
It is a lovely hotel, big, spacious. amazing breakfast buffet, friendly staff. happy days.
however
one thing really bugged me.
We would return home exhausted from a big day of walking/sighseeing of Uluru and/or Kata Tjuda and both times at around 4pm, our rooms had not been serviced.
both times.
this is a real hassle for a family with kids, as we are all exhausted and have to vacate the room (find something else to do - when all we want to do is crash out in the room) while the staff clean the room.
The first time it happened, i was told that it would be two hours until our room was clean. I was very unhappy when the reception staff told me " we have a lot of check in's today and they are our first priority" ummmm WHAT???
I was told that I could book a specific time for my room to be cleaned the next day so this did not happen again.
I did this and gave a big window of time between 9 - 3pm. I arrived back at the room at 430 and again, it was not clean.
now ok, I know - not the worst drama in the world, but when you are paying $450+ per night for a room, i think its pretty reasonable that your requests get met.
Fab breakfast bufffet - the dude who makes the cook to order omelettes, eggs bene etc is as cool as a cucumber, coping with so many requests. lots of choice, it is totally yummy.
The dinner buffet is very expensive. $70 per adult $40 per kid.$220 for dinner not including drinks is too much for us.
the room service menu was very well priced, and we got a couple of kids burgers and some entrees for a very reasonable price.
The free laundry is fantastic. we stayed in a hotel in Alice springs that charged $5 per wash and $5 per dry. A load of washing and drying cost us over $15. It was great that this was free, however, one of the washing machines was out of order, so the queue to wash was massive and took some negotiating, as rude people would take advantage of peoples absence and put their washing in the machines before others that were in the queue.
overall its a lovely hotel and experience, we were there in peak time, so i realise staff may have been stretched, but when you are paying top dollar, you expect things to be right.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

A visit to this hotel was on my bucket list. It did not disappoint as the service was friendly and the surrounds lovely. Of particular note in the restaurant were Sid and Lauren who were charming and helpful and really went out of their way to accommodate our various meal requirements. It is staff such as these delightful people of whom an hotel can be proud.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 457lesleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hi Lesley S
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sails in the Desert and in particular the customer service you experienced from our team. It will be my pleasure to share your comments directly with Sid & Lauren. We are delighted that you chose to stay at Sails in the Desert and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Riaz Mahmood
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We went to Sails for our 25th anniversary because the reputation was good and we like comfort.

We were not disappointed. The staff were excellent, nothing was any trouble. The room was excellent, comfortable and close to all amenities. The landscaping inside Sails is interesting with plenty of gardens to walk around, a large pool, beautiful trees etc.

The main restaurant and bar are well done and prices are reasonable for a resort that is 2000 km from anywhere. You have to pay for remoteness.

A short walk away is the 'town centre' with some shops, a couple of cafes, news agency, IGA supermarket, etc. Adjacent is a performance area where dance and other groups perform and a second area where instruction of local hunting and weapons takes place.

All together a satisfying trip with all the excursions available: Sound of Silence Dinner (out anniversary), Desert Awakenings, Kata Tjuta, Uluru at dawn and sunset etc.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fijimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews