We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 253
View Deal
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (2,576)
Filter reviews
2,576 results
Traveller rating
465
890
665
350
206
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
465
890
665
350
206
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa room desert moon canyon rim walk sunset viewing petrol station remote location viewing area short drive camping ground red centre dining options central australia breakfast was included stayed two nights thirsty dingo bar bistro outback
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 2,576 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Kings Canyon resort is the only hotel option if you are staying at Kings Canyon and is quite good. There are a range of rooms available and while expensive, once you realise how remote the place is, it seems fair enough. The deluxe spa room was nice, very clean and the spa bath with view is great. There are adjoining rooms available so it’s a good option for families. Food at the restaurant is only adequate, but service is friendly. And of course, Kings Canyon itself is spectacular so it’s well worth the trip.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Quintana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you Quintana88 for your review of your recent stay . We appreciate your positive feedback , and recognition of our friendly staff .
Regards

Michelle Ikin
General Manager
Kings Canyon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We stayed in the delux spa room which was large, clean and well equiped. It wasn't cheap but it was worth it to stay in four star accomodation in such a remote place. The soft lighting in the private rear garden was a lovely peaceful view to look at while soaking in the tub. I liked that it was short stroll to the Carmichaels restaurant. This restaurant has a good menu and an average wine list. We liked that our walking tours and tour of the local indigenous community was conducted by the very knowledgeable resort staff. If you fly in on the light aircraft remember to just take a small overnight bag.

Room tip: Spend the extra if you can to get a delux spa room as I believe the other rooms are just average.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank meeghall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear meeghall

Thank you for your review on your Overnight Delight package stay with us . Delighted to hear you enjoyed the tours and services we provided .

Regards

Michelle Ikin
General Manager
Kings Canyon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Booked a deluxe room ! And when we arrived found it less than satisfactory. The booking in seemed to take us 35 mins .a queue of about 25 people in front of us .some were booking in to caravan spaces ..should have been a queue for delux rooms .....The room was sort of clean ,big stains on the carpet ,tiles in the bathroom not the best even allowing for the red earth ,.Tv that we had to get reception to come and fix .this took ten minutes .for him too do ..But saw the Canyon at sunset and this was fantastic after flying over it in a helicopter.......

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank phillipk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Phillipk8

We do apologise for the delays at check in during the busiest week of the year, and for the issues you had with your accommodation . Delighted to read you enjoyed the amazing Kings Canyon views from the helicopter.
Please let me know if you prefer me to contact you directly for any further discussion regarding your stay with us.

Regards

Michelle Ikin
General Manager
Kings Canyon Resort
E: mikin@delawarenorth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Firstly Let’s me say the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast was also very good.
The room prices are very expensive for what you receive our room was $449.00. And we pre booked. The cheapest one in July. ( yes high season) Our room had a horrible smell as soon as we opened the door, that we had to put bin over drains there was no water in the fridge and there were cobwebs and dirty skirting. The place was fully booked so we had no option.
The TV was also hit and miss. I’ve stayed out at the remotely Oodnadatta and their TV was perfectly

Take a tent!

I have photos and room number if management would like them.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KarenAllen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thanks Karen A
Thank you for taking the time to contact me personally on email . We very much appreciate your detailed comments and suggestions for ways in which we can constantly improve .
Kind Regards
Michelle Ikin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

First impressions as you drive in are complete serenity... the staff at the desk are very professional … but the prices of this may shock a few. They have the monopoly out in the area so they can, and do, charge as they please. But if you get past that... the resort stunningly blends into the environment.

We made our way to our room and found it to be quite adequate for our needs. There is a small balcony area off the back of it in case you want to sit outside.... but other than that, it reflects most average motels. It's biggest feature being that it blends into landscape.

The restaurant (Carmichaels) we ate dinner at was also where our breakfast was (inclusive in room price-breakfast). The restaurant sits amidst weeping trees and against a small sandstone wall... so just walking there is lovely. Dinner was REALLY nice... service, food... mouthwatering! Breakfast was quite average in comparison... it did what it needed to do without shining.

Overall though... I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay again were I to be up that way. We actually drove past a dingo on the way back from the sunset viewing.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you Crystalline4u on your extensive feedback from your recent stay.
We are delighted you enjoyed the services and facilities within our remote resort ,and would love to have you stay with us again at any time .

Kind regards

Michelle Ikin
General Manager
Kings Canyon Resort
E: mikin@delawarenorth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews