We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Valley 4WD Day Tour
75

Book in advance
from
AU$244.02
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Finke Gorge National Park
from AU$244.02
More Info
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
83
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
13
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

A lunch spot on the tours of the West Macdonnell, this oasis is very pleasant and offers the opportunity for a short helicopter flight over the gorge and surrounding area - which is spectacular. Be forewarned, it's a small helicopter and if it's windy- not for the faint of heart!
.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Great drive in which satisfied my needs, the walk along the valley is spectacular. Hats and water are a must for this walk, it is easy and quite nice even in the middle of the day. My partner did the short walk and she is 7 months pregnant so it is a nice easy walk.
We pulled a group out of trouble who had a hiace van, this track is definitely 4WD access as the sign clearly indicates.
Great walk, great scenery, stop at Hermensberg for a cold drink before you head out.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank JPWilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2017

The scenery & vistas are absolutely awesome. wear sun block, bring a hat & lots of water. Don't forget the camera.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This is a lovely place to camp or bring your caravan and enjoy the true outback of Australia. If you want to get into the true part of the valley a 4WD is essential and if you have a motor home - I'd take it easy as I had to help people get out with a zed drag. If it's wet - don't go as it's tricky unless you're an experienced 4WD person.
I highly recommend that you do the south east walk that exits from the campground as it has the most gorgeous scenery and beautiful flora.
Take a camera as the photo opportunities are abundant.
DO NOT leave food out as the dingos will come and eat it. Beware. They aren't dangerous but they will take your food.
I found alot of mozzies here so bring insect repellant and if you want to stay outside at night, bring some sort of night candle. Keep lights off if possible.
Big tip: reduce your tyre pressue to around 25psi as it makes travelling on the sandy dirt tracks better. If you have a compressor, you can pump them up again when you hit the tarmac.
I recommend you take all your 4WD rescue gear and communication devices. Take all the water you need - don't rely on what's there and don't think that it might be clean. Be as self sufficient as possible.
Do explore around as there is so much to see and discover. I would easily stay here two nights if not more.
Please take your rubbish out with you.

Date of experience: May 2016
7  Thank urbandrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2017

The Finke Gorge is an oasis in the middle of a desert, absolutely stunning, accessible by car and pretty safe. However you will need a 4WD to get to the valley. The camp is well maintained, wifi and all accessories needed. A lovely place to enjoy a day.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank jennymorry1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews