We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
45
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews movie set dirt road stone cottage red sand outback experience rustic charm star restaurant quality romantic getaway beautiful night amazing location cold beer beautiful place to stay milky way hot weather fire pit short drive enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Our stay at Ooraminna Homestead was the perfect setting for our visiting family from the city who wanted a taste of the outback - splashing through red mud in the 4x4, open fire, panoramic vistas, howling dingoes and spectacular sunrise.

After having watched the movie "Sweet Country" in the cinemas the night before, it was amazing to then see the film set the very next day - and stay in THE log cabin!

Also Nicky was very accommodating of our last-minute booking, and her family were wonderful company at the communal dining table.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

the food the place the scenery all wonderful. cant describe how great it was. The food was 5 star restaurant quality. the place was just wonderful. Will be recommending it to anyone.
the rooms well love the log bed posts and love the way the have done the bath rooms. the owners where very friendly and great family.
oh and on side note the breakfast OMG best iced coffee that have ever had near Alice

Room tip: loved the cabins
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Staying at a outback homestead dining under the stars then to retire to the quaintest stone cabin beautifully styled set amongst red rocky cliffs with an outback view I have had envisaged and only dreamt about.. until now.. I do believe i have ticked a bucket list moment in my life and i am very much looking forward to returning to Ooramina to tick the bucket again with friends and family,I have no hesitation in recommending this outback oasis.

Room tip: I would be very confident for the Ooramina team to advise you on suitable arrangements.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole L, Owner at Ooraminna Station Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thanks Kendra, So lovely having your family here at Ooraminna. I've got some amazing display rocks in mind for your next photoshoot of the wonderful Ooroo. Hope to see you again on the way back North. Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Amazing outback experience at Ooraminna. Loved my stay here! Wonderful hosts, peaceful/tranquil setting, large array of wildlife present. Birds seen within the immediate homestead grounds were
budgy, owlet nightjar, western bowerbird, little crow, crimson chat, white plumed honeyeater, spiny cheeked honeyeater, brown honeyeater, zebra finch, white browed babbler, black faced cuckooshrike, diamond dove, splendid fairy wren, variegated fairy wren, galah, western gerygone, red backed kingfisher, black kite, mistletoebird, barn owl, mulga parrot, crested pigeon, crested bellbird, collared sparrowhawk, white winged triller, rufous whistler, little woodswallow, black faced woodswallow, rainbow bee eater, willy wagtail.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukemcpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night and enjoyed it alot. It was an easy drive from Alice Springs. The hosts were charming and friendly. The cabin we stayed in was well appointed (there is air conditioning) it is set in front of a scenic outcrop almost like in a Western movie set. There is a billabong within walking distance... lots of birds and wild life to enjoy in the surrounds. There is a permanent movie set ( Sweet Country was filmed here). The dinner was great with lovely company. It was hot weather as it's summer. We hope to return in the winter to enjoy this place further.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chathika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole L, Owner at Ooraminna Station Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thank you Chats, we so enjoyed having you here. Such a nice dinner party too! Look forward to seeing you again. :) Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews