We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of RT Tours Australia

RT Tours Australia
Ranked #14 of 33 Tours in Alice Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bob Taylor is a Master Bush Chef that loves to share his passion for food, culture and country with travellers to Australia’s Red Centre. A Central Aranda man, Bob infuses traditional foods of the Australian bush into his fare to add flavours unique to the region. His deep knowledge of culture and country allows him to pass the stories of this amazing landscape on to his guests.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I recently went on a five day tour of the 'Red Centre ' with AATKings. As part of our tour we had a dinner under the stars hosted by Bob Taylor.
He met us first at Simpsons gap and gave us information about the area and some of the p,ants around us.
We then went to his dinner site and had the most amazing meal under the stars.
This is well worth doing if you are at Alice Springs! Bob shares his knowledge of edible p,ants, facts about Aboriginal culture and life, and also some of his personal history.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank merinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most enjoyable!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Our Guide and Chef was the owner of the business and what a wonderful job he did. The day we had our excursion, he had been told that he could have a piece of land on which to conduct his outings, which will alleviate all the transporting of the fabulous food. Please look him up in Alice when you are there.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Starlight and Bush Dinner”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The Mbantua tour and dinner was an excellent addition to our stay in Alice Springs.Our guide Bob was very knowledgeable and offered interesting information on the history, flora and fauna of the Alice springs telegraph station. We then went out to Simpsons gap for a 20 minute walk which offered great photo opportunities. Then we turned down a permit only path to a quiet location with walks to the top of the hill and riverbed to enjoy our bush dinner, which was fabulous. Although the night was chilly Bob delivered a starlight tour showing us the visible constellations and planets. Overall a unique and great experience.

Jules

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_Vahl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet Heaven set to Stunning Vistas by Chef Bob Penuka ”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I and our 16 year old daughter and 10 year old son booked a 4 day guided culinary camping tour of the Western Macdonnell Ranges National Park with Aborigine gourmet chef Bob Penuka.

Bob picked us up at Alice Springs airport in a comfy Land Cruiser towing a trailer. We drove to a reserved campsite 120 km away at Ormiston Gorge.

Our 10 year old son Levi wrote this about our experience:

"Bob really made our time in the Outback worth the trip alone. He showed us all of the unique flora and fauna that call central Australia home, and seemed to know the answer to every question we had, whether it was about the history of his indigenous people, animals (from the biggest Euro to the smallest tadpole), plants, cooking, history, or anything else that you could possibly think of. With loads of experience and knowledge to share, as well as amazing cooking skills, he made every hike or even stroll through the brush an exciting adventure. Bob was very knowledgeable about the land which we all stood on and never failed to add the unique, first-hand perspective that only a lifetime in Australia could teach anyone to appreciate to any political discussion. Extremely accommodating, Bob would always ask and consider how everyone felt before taking a hike or while planning an excursion, and his amazing cooking skills coupled with exotic foods like emu or kangaroo would make every meal worth looking forward to. He was really just as great as any tour guide gets, and a very interesting, friendly, accommodating, humorous, skilled, and knowledgeable person."

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
4 Thank designvidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob T, Owner at RT Tours Australia, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Wow this is the greatest Review. I really appreciate it. The great experience was made by all of you and I thank you for giving me the opportunity to show you a little bit of the Outback. I love it so its easy to enjoy it with you . I trust the rest of your journey was a good one. safe travels and keep the good work up Levi. cheers Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 23 June 2016

What an amazing experience! Dinner under the stars, feasting on traditional bush tucker and finishing off with a worldy experience about learning about Indigenous astronomy. This is a must for anyone visiting the area!

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RT Tours Australia also viewed

 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to RT Tours Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing