We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Heaven set to Stunning Vistas by Chef Bob Penuka ”
Review of RT Tours Australia

RT Tours Australia
Ranked #14 of 33 Tours in Alice Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bob Taylor is a Master Bush Chef that loves to share his passion for food, culture and country with travellers to Australia’s Red Centre. A Central Aranda man, Bob infuses traditional foods of the Australian bush into his fare to add flavours unique to the region. His deep knowledge of culture and country allows him to pass the stories of this amazing landscape on to his guests.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet Heaven set to Stunning Vistas by Chef Bob Penuka ”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I and our 16 year old daughter and 10 year old son booked a 4 day guided culinary camping tour of the Western Macdonnell Ranges National Park with Aborigine gourmet chef Bob Penuka.

Bob picked us up at Alice Springs airport in a comfy Land Cruiser towing a trailer. We drove to a reserved campsite 120 km away at Ormiston Gorge.

Our 10 year old son Levi wrote this about our experience:

"Bob really made our time in the Outback worth the trip alone. He showed us all of the unique flora and fauna that call central Australia home, and seemed to know the answer to every question we had, whether it was about the history of his indigenous people, animals (from the biggest Euro to the smallest tadpole), plants, cooking, history, or anything else that you could possibly think of. With loads of experience and knowledge to share, as well as amazing cooking skills, he made every hike or even stroll through the brush an exciting adventure. Bob was very knowledgeable about the land which we all stood on and never failed to add the unique, first-hand perspective that only a lifetime in Australia could teach anyone to appreciate to any political discussion. Extremely accommodating, Bob would always ask and consider how everyone felt before taking a hike or while planning an excursion, and his amazing cooking skills coupled with exotic foods like emu or kangaroo would make every meal worth looking forward to. He was really just as great as any tour guide gets, and a very interesting, friendly, accommodating, humorous, skilled, and knowledgeable person."

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
4 Thank designvidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob T, Owner at RT Tours Australia, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Wow this is the greatest Review. I really appreciate it. The great experience was made by all of you and I thank you for giving me the opportunity to show you a little bit of the Outback. I love it so its easy to enjoy it with you . I trust the rest of your journey was a good one. safe travels and keep the good work up Levi. cheers Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 23 June 2016

What an amazing experience! Dinner under the stars, feasting on traditional bush tucker and finishing off with a worldy experience about learning about Indigenous astronomy. This is a must for anyone visiting the area!

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have a good time with Bob”
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Can't add much more than has already been written about Bob's tour. Have a read of all the reviews. We (Julie and I) were the only ones on our particular tour which made it very special for us. Bob is a lovely bloke and and made us feel very comfortable with him. He is not short of stories and knowledge of the bush and the uses of plants in his 'bush tucker'. I would recommend this tour to anyone travelling to the 'outback' of Oz.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A truly amazing experience”
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Bob collected us from the hotel and drove us to several places of interest, all the time telling us tales and facts about his life and about Aboriginal culture. It was one of the highlights of our month in Australia. We are both vegetarians and Bob adapted his usual menu to suit us - so although we didn't get to eat emu or kangaroo, he prepared plenty of other tasty dishes for us. A fabulous afternoon and evening - thanks, Bob!

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Professeurdefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A fantastic introduction to the Outback”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

We were treated like queens. All 5 of us. Bob picked us up from our hotel and brought us to the Alice Springs Telegraph station where we saw a mother kangaroo with her joey.
We enjoyed dinner in view of the Western McDonnell ranges, and were treated to an amazing 5 course gourmet bush meal prepared by Bob. We still talk about the sparkling lemon drink with river mint and wattleseed-rubbed macadamia nuts.
We also enjoyed the emu sausage and lean kangaroo meat. Dessert was individual cakes cooked over the fire and they left us speechless. It was absolutely delicious!
All this under the night sky listening to the sounds of the desert. It was a one of a kind, authentic Outback experience and we absolutely loved it.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank ninska_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RT Tours Australia also viewed

 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to RT Tours Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing