We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing experience”
Review of RT Tours Australia

RT Tours Australia
Ranked #14 of 33 Tours in Alice Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bob Taylor is a Master Bush Chef that loves to share his passion for food, culture and country with travellers to Australia’s Red Centre. A Central Aranda man, Bob infuses traditional foods of the Australian bush into his fare to add flavours unique to the region. His deep knowledge of culture and country allows him to pass the stories of this amazing landscape on to his guests.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A truly amazing experience”
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Bob collected us from the hotel and drove us to several places of interest, all the time telling us tales and facts about his life and about Aboriginal culture. It was one of the highlights of our month in Australia. We are both vegetarians and Bob adapted his usual menu to suit us - so although we didn't get to eat emu or kangaroo, he prepared plenty of other tasty dishes for us. A fabulous afternoon and evening - thanks, Bob!

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Professeurdefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A fantastic introduction to the Outback”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

We were treated like queens. All 5 of us. Bob picked us up from our hotel and brought us to the Alice Springs Telegraph station where we saw a mother kangaroo with her joey.
We enjoyed dinner in view of the Western McDonnell ranges, and were treated to an amazing 5 course gourmet bush meal prepared by Bob. We still talk about the sparkling lemon drink with river mint and wattleseed-rubbed macadamia nuts.
We also enjoyed the emu sausage and lean kangaroo meat. Dessert was individual cakes cooked over the fire and they left us speechless. It was absolutely delicious!
All this under the night sky listening to the sounds of the desert. It was a one of a kind, authentic Outback experience and we absolutely loved it.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank ninska_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique Most enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Bob does, history, geography, culture, politics and some special cooking.
The perspective you get is unlike any other. It is personal from a person who has and continues to live it.
We are so glad that we chose this activity - thanks Bob

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenTraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing tour and dinner under the stars”
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Bob did a wonderful tour for the two of us. What we enjoyed the most, were the interesting insights, the personal tour character and just perfect, delicious dinner under the stars. Thank you again, Bob, we absolutely enjoyed the tour with you!!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience - a different food tour”
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We were collected by Rob at the appointed hour and he took us to see Emily Gap, west of Alice Springs. Then we had a look at the Telegraph Station, and then to Simpsons Gap. Rob told us a lot about the plants and the wildlife.
He then set up his mobile kitchen outside the ranger station and proceeded to cook a delightful meal including bruschetta with chickpea dip and lemon myrtle. We had emu rissoles, kangaroo fillet, bush tomatoes, macadamia nuts with wattleseed. Finished with steamed quandong pudding. A chef and a great bloke and I'd recommend this tour to anyone. Apparently his evening tours with tales around the fire are popular and we would try that next time.
Be prepared to go home full and satisfied!

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RT Tours Australia also viewed

 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to RT Tours Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing