We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not ask for anything more!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Palms Alice Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not ask for anything more!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Originally booked for 2 days while passing through Alice Springs, and ended up extending our stay for another 2 nights as we felt quiet at home. Rooms very comfortable and clean and the resort is located in a great area of town. Will definately be returning (hopefully soon!)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsmae_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    158
    96
    38
    14
See reviews for
103
141
33
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had been recommended Desert Palms Resort by a number of friends and family and it met our key criteria. We were advised that it is best to stay on the east side of the Todd away from the centre of town, and I agree this felt like a good idea.

The resort is not luxurious but the rooms were adequate and the grounds felt very family friendly. It was good value for money and I would make the same choice again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Comfortable cabins (1QB 1SB) with ensuit, clean and very compact. Has range hood but lacks a cooktop and full size fridge which I feel is necessary for long stays. I would have liked to have seen a window in the bathroom, a ceiling fan for summer and a security screen door for added circulation. Parking is out front of cabin but could prove a problem if all cabins are full. No table and chairs inside...I brought mine in from outside. Also needed somewhere to put a suitcase on and dish drainer.

Room Tip: Reverse cycle airconditioning, no fan, no windows, no screen door and no cooktop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellygang51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My family & I stayed at the Desert Palms Resort in July & was very impressed with this property. It was affordable to say the least, the rooms were clean & a bonus having the equipped kitchen to help keep costs down.
The pool was beautiful...(a little chilly being this time of year but most enjoyable all the same) and the overall grounds very tidy.
The bonus was being able to park your car right outside your own door.....!!!
I would highly recommend this resort for family or anyone for that matter visiting the Alice.
Keep up the good work folks....Thanks for your hospitality...we will be back..!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast, queensland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The resort was well situated in distance to everything,the staff were helpful and enjoy to talk too. The prices were great for everyone to enjoy. The time was relaxing and without hassles. The accomodation was neat and clean,rooms not to big or to small. Over all a wonderful time was had by both of us, and returned home to tell everyone we know what a great place the resort was and we plan to return there in the very near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharyn62-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.4 km away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Alice Springs

Property: Desert Palms Alice Springs
Address: 74 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price range (per night): $119 - $158
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Palms Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and HostelWorld so you can book your Desert Palms Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing