We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super rare venomous snakes”

Alice Springs Reptile Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 83.73*
and up
Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alice Springs Reptile Centre is a privately owned park which displays an extensive range of reptiles from the Northern Territory of Australia including Terry the Saltwater crocodile and large Perentie Goannas. The talk and handling sessions are a must and are at 11am, 1pm and 3.30Pm daily.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Super rare venomous snakes”
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We were there with a former employee. We did miss the show but everyone who saw it was very complimentary. You are essentially right nest to all the snakes

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank bobtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    245
    70
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Highly Entertaining and Informative”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

A great opportunity to get close to snakes and lizards and a croc. Rex's presentation is highly entertaining and informative. A worthwhile visit.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castletown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very informative”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Came here on tour - very interesting talk by guide focusing our attention on first aid if we ever got bitten by a local snake - completely different to fist aid actions as home so will keep that in mind. All reptiles appeared to be content and enjoyed getting handled - none stressed out. Great friendly, informative and knowledgeable staff. Well worth a visit

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fears addressed”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I am fascinated by snakes but they are one of only a couple of phobias I have.

This facility is small, but well worth the visit.
It is well laid out and the staff are friendly and very informative.

My wife has no real far of snakes - but knows I do.
So when the olive python was being held by a young girl, my wife challenged me!!! It wasn't too bad until the snake decided it wanted to move in for "a kiss". Then I was scared - but managed to hold it together long enough for the snake to be removed.

The facility not only had most of the top venomous indigenous snakes, it had a salt water croc, lizards and other reptiles and amphibians.

Before we left the lady who placed the snake on me gave us an insight into the wider work they do at the facility. All the handlers are on rota to remove snakes from homes and other places. After recent rain there had been a surge in the number of call outs. It was very fascinating so I will leave you to find out more if you are interested.
Well worth the entry fee.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some unusual inhabitants”
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We went in partly to escape the rain, and we're very glad we did. It is not very big but has lots of interesting reptiles. The staff were very friendly and gave us some really good information

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank BobPat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice Springs Reptile Centre also viewed

 

Been to Alice Springs Reptile Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing