We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but basic”
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but basic”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Pros:
Very happy and friendly lady on reception. Nice pool. Washing/drying and washing line facilities were great (available 24/7). Large TV. Large room. Air-con was powerful and cold.

Cons:
Old style furnishings. Weak shower which you had to keep pushing back up into place. Pool chairs broken. Air-con was noisy. Bed was really hard. Customers have to wash their own plates.


For the price I feel it gave good value. Expect basic. As I mentioned before the lady on reception is so friendly.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2017
Hi,
thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your feedback to us.
I am sorry about your shower, you should of told me during your stay and i would of had it rectified for you.
as our kitchen is communal, where you can have free breakfast, we do ask our guests to clean up (wash the dishes, cups etc that they use) this is because of the guests coming behind who expect the kitchen to be as clean as you found it.
we are a basic, budget motel, but we try to make staying with us a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    167
    67
    16
    10
See reviews for
74
176
35
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what the hotel.claims it is...plain,basic,inexpensive....and fairly close to town...about 20 minute walk. there is a bottle and grocery store two blocks away as well as Indian restaurant, fish and chippy and Thai.
There is a nice pool...Continental breakfast...the rooms r very basic and in my opinion in need of upgrade..but they r a family run motel and i imagine its not cheap to do an overhaul....
Staff r very friendly and helpful. There is a washing machine and clothes line...clothes dry very quickly..they do have a dryer as well
towels, facecloths,coffee, tea and milk provided.
if u r looking for.someplace to.stay it does the job. they also have a storage closet.for your suitcases while u go out to Uluru.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank canthinkofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
you seemed to of enjoyed the use of our amenities whilst you were here staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndoch, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We arrived in town a day early and our scheduled accommodation was not available so took what looked like the cheapest room. It was pretty basic but the air cond worked, the shower was hot, the sheets clean and the rate included a breakfast in the breakfast room - really it was all that mattered - the pool looked good but we did not use it - yes I would stay again
we had an end room facing the road but there was minimal road noise

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimBarossaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2017
Thank you for your positive compliments about Alice Motor Inn. We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two nights before and after 3 day trip to Uluru. The hotel is small and quiet, with comfortable rooms. They have a gate that closes at 7 pm-7am, which makes you feel very secure. They also have a poolarea that are nice. I highly recommend this place for their really nice staff. They are very helpful and do alot to make your stay comfortable.

Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2017
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that our staff was able to make you feel comfortable.
Our gate close down, of a night, with guest only access, works really well, and we are pleased that it was a plus for yourself.

Happy travels for the rest of your stay. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Traveled to Alice Springs on 23/01/2017. I used TripAdvisor to help locate
A suitable place to stay for the evening. It was a wonderful place to stay.....
everyone was nice....Guest and Staff.....if I should return, I would definitely stay there again. Thank You......

Room Tip: The staff will ensure you have a comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2017
Thank you Albert for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you chose Alice Motor Inn, for your overnight stay.
We seem to have met all your expectations. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
3.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
2.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
302 reviews
2.6 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
482 reviews
2.5 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Alice Springs

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Property: Alice Motor Inn
Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price range (per night): $91 - $124
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs
Alice Motor Inn Alice Springs, Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing