We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back yard is nice but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Pathdorf
Ranked #9 of 10 Alice Springs B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back yard is nice but...”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

we arrived at Pathdorf B&B in a rental car which was handy as the B&B is a fair way out of town, thats not a bad thing as it,s nice and peaceful. We were shown to our En-suite Apartment which is just a room with a bathroom quite dark and no amenities fridge etc which we assumed an apartment would have, the air-con was nosiey and kept us awake we had no control over the tempreature and it got quite cold,the pillows were a joke but didn,t feel we could ask for replacements! Breakfast was from 7.30 - 9.00am it was all brand foods which is not a problem but tiny juice box,s and yogurts, we ordered a cooked breakfast for 8am (at an extra cost) and went to have a coffee at 7.30 only to be told we were not allowed in the breakfast room until our breakfast was ready!!!!!! We had several evening meals as we were tired and couldn,t be bothered to go to the town, we hoped they would get better with each one but they were all rubbish and over priced, we had some of the famous home made cake for $7.50 which was stale. Our plan was to book for 4 nights , then go sightseeing elsewhere and return for 1 night but we didn,t want to return for the 1 night so we gave the owner plenty of notice to cancell which he said was ok only to find he took the money from our credit card anyway, and would not credit back. Lots of do's and don'ts and rules not pleasent

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourBnB, Manager at Bed & Breakfast Pathdorf, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Pretty strange what you write or you must be good liars or completely envious. Nearly everybody loves the meals, breakfast and in particular the home-made cakes. Well, when you were here you said the same and praised virtually everything, you looked happy, relaxed, and you liked the food, otherwise you would not dine every night. I suppose somebody else advised you to give a bad comment by whatever reason. Anyway, it was nice to have you hear and I had you in good memory only. Cheerio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
München
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Pro:
- The best price/performance ratio in Alice Springs
- Very clean rooms, common and bathrooms
- Five rooms share a bathroom and a toilette
- The helpful owner gave us very useful and precise tips for our trip to Ayers Rock and McDonald. Some years ago, he was a professional tour guide in this area.
- The breakfast was delicious and enough
- The large garden was a very nice place to spend some time reading a book or observing a lot of birds there
Contra:
- Impossible to reach the hotel without a car. However, what are you doing in Alice Springs without a car?

Room Tip: All rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mephisto07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is not near the center of Alice Springs which is good and bad.

If you want to be in the middle of the country and have a wonderful view of stars at night and enjoy the country life this is for you. This is perfect for someone with a car. Yes Uwe, the owner gives rides. But then you are dependent on another person to get where you want to go and he does charge. 18 AUD for the airport and I believe 10 AUD for Alice Springs. The good news is all the tours I took came and picked me up. I would suggest renting a car.

The insides of my ensuited apartment were big and spacious. The only complaint is the room was cold and the heater provided was not adequate. He did provide an extra blanket. I come from Texas during the summer and do not like cold at all. I am mentioning this to give you perspective of my opinion. I do not know if he has air condtioner. If you stay in the summer it may be something you want to ask about.

Breakfast is included. It is adequate. Nothing to complain about nor brag about. When I arrived around noon in Alice Springs and was picked up by Uwe I was neither offered food at his place nor did I think to ask him to stop some place to eat. This is what I mean when I say you are trapped if you do not have a car of your own. He does have pastries to sale but that is not like being able to order from a menu.

Uwe is working hard to make the grounds presentable and they are very nice. He has the trails lite up with solar lights. There is absolutely no light pollution and the stars are gorgeous at his place.

As far the internet he provides a connection at a cost. If you did not bring your own laptop then you are out of luck becuase there is no computers to use.

Room Tip: If you want to do stargazing I believe the cottage is better than the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CecileK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We were 2 families and took both upper apartment and lower one.
We loved the care taken by the owner to develop this land, bring back birds and plants that had disapeared.
The place is very clean, well managed and friendly. The owner knows very well the region and is happy to give you tips and recomendation where to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymbalinepinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Not a bad stay, but this place is lacking the B&B charm. The German owner is friendly but treats the establishment like it's a resort (which it is not) rather than a bnb. There are signs with rules everywhere you look which gives a rigid feel to the place. Breakfast was minimal. Heads up check out is 10am! Also the rooms do not have air conditioning; they have water coolers which means the temp in the room was very warm at least in the summer. Finally, there is no free Internet.

What makes up for this is the hotels gardens which are impressive and filled with fruit trees, lizards and some pretty cool birds.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodsaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
4.6 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
391 reviews
6.2 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
891 reviews
4.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
6.6 km away
The Desert Rose Inn
The Desert Rose Inn
#10 of 10 in Alice Springs
82 reviews
9.0 km away
A Good Rest B&B
A Good Rest B&B
#1 of 10 in Alice Springs
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Pathdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Pathdorf

Property: Bed & Breakfast Pathdorf
Address: 107 Heath Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alice Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Pathdorf 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Pathdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Pathdorf Alice Springs, Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing