We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“5-star for us--has everything that really matters” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“5-star for us--has everything that really matters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

You'd be hard-pressed to find anything to dislike here, unless you really need room service (and the restaurant across the road delivers, so that's probably not even an issue.

We had a great little cabin (No. 25) with a bathroom. It had a queen bed in the main room, plus 4 bunkbeds in what was basically a large closet--we liked that because it saved all the space for the area where you're spending your awake time, and each bunk even had its own reading light. The kitchen had everything we needed. There was a T.V. that we never turned on, so I don't know what it offered. Bathroom was quite spacious. Loved being able to pull our car right into our own little carport, and we enjoyed eating our meals outside on our picnic table, though the full-sized dining table inside was great as well. Laundry facilities were only a few steps away. Great entertainment for kids of all ages with the "jumping pillow" and pool, plus other fun.

There was even a pancake breakfast on Sunday morning, which was fun (and delicious pancakes as well). Definitely a very nice and fun place to spend time. We loved it and recommend with no reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamATW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    87
    14
    4
    10
See reviews for
112
130
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jabiru, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

We have stayed at Big 4 4 times now and always stay in the Deluxe Villas. Although the dining/lounge is a bit cramped and the TV tiny it does not impact on our stay. So if you are planning to lounge around watching TV all day, maybe stay some where else! The things we love the most is the AWESOME king size bed and the CRISP linen, the huge spa bath (although it does not have bubbles), the jumping pillow and pool area are hugely enjoyed by our 3 young teenage children. I must mention if you judge your holiday on customer service (and I must admit, I do a little), we don't find the staff are exceptionally friendly. One of the older male staff (who scoots around on his golf buggy and motorbike all day) wander around being the fun police and telling kids off for not wearing helmets (whether it be scooters, skateboards or bikes) and can you believe the old codger did not wear a helmet for even one day out of the 5 we were there! He even told a few kids that he would confiscate their scooter/bike/skateboard for the rest of their holiday if he caught them again..... not good. Great facilties, fanatastic rooms, poor customer relations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LozaWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Alice Springs for the Finke Desert Race. I was surprised at the cost for a powered sight, but quickly realised that accommodation in Alice Springs is not cheap and you get what you pay for, so all good. The park is lovely, in a nice, quiet location. It is a large park, with swimming pools, jumping pillows etc for kids (and big kids!) The facilities were up to date and very clean. The camp kitchen was great....saves unpacking everything! There is a small supermarket on site which stocks everything - food, toiletries, camping requirements, souveneirs etc. I would definitely stay here again. Friends we travelled with have stayed here 3 times which is why we picked this park. It is just south of Alice Springs - not right in the town centre, just before you drive between the Macdonnell Ranges.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

At first I was a little shocked at the price to stay here on a powered site but as others have mentioned Alice Springs is an expensive spot to stay! We arrived mid afternoon and got the last spot available amazing considering the size of the park. Great facilities for the kids and they have things on every day free for guests. The Sunday morning pancakes were great, took awhile to get down the queue but when the park is fully booked you have to expect that. Facilities were spotless and staff were always around cleaning up and making sure it was spic and span. We ended up staying 5 nights to rest up and do day trips around Alice Springs, if you have a 4WD get out to Palm Valley a great spot. If staying a night or a week this place is a great spot.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mercuryprinciple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossman, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Accommodation is expensive in Alice Springs - this holiday park, part of the Big 4 franchise, is well run, very well maintained and is, in the circumstances of Alice, value for money. Our 'villa' (a mobile home without the wheels really) was spotless, well appointed and comfortable -apart from the dining chairs!. The amenities are excellent - the swimming pools in particular are a credit to the management. Excellent clean BBQs. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are three internet terminals in the reception area. It's location, just outside Alice is very convenient provided you have a car.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfieMossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
2.4 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
2.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.9 km away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.9 km away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Address: Palm Place, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Alice Springs
Price range (per night): $111 - $160
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacDonnell Range Holiday Park is the most awarded park in the Northern Territory, famous for our Sunday morning pancake breakfasts! Situated at the foothills of the magnificent MacDonnell Ranges and only 4.5kms from the CBD, our park offers a quiet, relaxing holiday and an experience that only the unique centre of Australia has to offer. We offer year-round accommodation in a friendly atmosphere we guarantee you'll enjoy! Free Pancake breakfast every Sunday morning. April to September we offer free entertainment. Monday nights listen to our 4WD talk, Tuesday night view the night sky's with local astronomer, Thursday afternoon join us for biscuits and cheese. Bring a bottle of wine & watch the sun go down. Friday nights listen to Bush Ballads with a local singer/songwriter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park Alice Springs, Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing