We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean and very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Super clean and very relaxing”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We came in low season, hot season so it was wonderful to find a place with two pools. Everything was spotless. The pools were cleaned everyday, the palms were being trimmed, the roads were spotless and the camp sites were newly mowed and very green. The sites are very large shady and well maintained and the camp kitchen was large. The only downsides were that you had to pay (a tiny amount) for the gas stove and the fridge/freezer were way too warm and nothing ever froze so our ice cream was ruined. I would totally come back here!

Room Tip: Ask for something specific if it's low season and they'll try to accommodate you. Also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    103
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
135
144
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We arrived here after a 3 star at 5 star prices stay at Yulara resort. Although the Deluxe Villa was a portable home style building, its fixtures and fittings (especially the kitchen) were of a standard we'd be happy with at home. The living area was small, but other rooms OK.

For the kids, the park fcilities were great - large jumping cushions and other playgrounds, pleasant swimming pools and free Sunday morning pancake breakfast. Excellent shared BBQ facilities, games room and youth TV room, with reasonably priced pedal go-karts which our 3 year old loved. Teh local astronomers have a more than reasonable telescope located at the park, and give star talks of a Tuesday evening in the clear desert sky.

With the relatively limited aprtment options for Alice Springs holidays I have been recommending this location to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed in a deluxe villa which was better than most 5 star hotels I have stayed at within Australia. It was practically brand new, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. (2 bedrooms - King bed in one & four bunks in the other, kitchen with dishwasher & living area, 2 large flat screen TV's, Stereo with Ipod dock plus a large bathroom) The perfect accommodation for my family of 5.
Macdonnell Range Holiday Park exceeded our expectations for a wonderful family Holiday. We travelled to Alice Springs to escape the Melbourne winter and originally planned to stay here 2 nights but was so impressed that we stayed 6 nights and cancelled our other plans.
We loved spending our days by the pool, the kids loved the parks & of course the jumping pillows! I would love to return here, it was exactly the break we wanted and needed.

Room Tip: A deluxe villa made our stay super comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImeldaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Well laid out caravan park, excellent amenities, clean and tidy and well maintained. Close proximity to city of Alice Springs. Staff were very friendly and helpful at check-in. Caravan sites are very spacious. It's a large park but no noise. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dalmeny66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

You'd be hard-pressed to find anything to dislike here, unless you really need room service (and the restaurant across the road delivers, so that's probably not even an issue.

We had a great little cabin (No. 25) with a bathroom. It had a queen bed in the main room, plus 4 bunkbeds in what was basically a large closet--we liked that because it saved all the space for the area where you're spending your awake time, and each bunk even had its own reading light. The kitchen had everything we needed. There was a T.V. that we never turned on, so I don't know what it offered. Bathroom was quite spacious. Loved being able to pull our car right into our own little carport, and we enjoyed eating our meals outside on our picnic table, though the full-sized dining table inside was great as well. Laundry facilities were only a few steps away. Great entertainment for kids of all ages with the "jumping pillow" and pool, plus other fun.

There was even a pancake breakfast on Sunday morning, which was fun (and delicious pancakes as well). Definitely a very nice and fun place to spend time. We loved it and recommend with no reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamATW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
2.5 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
404 reviews
2.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
462 reviews
4.0 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
946 reviews
2.9 km away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Address: Palm Place, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Alice Springs
Price range (per night): $130 - $191
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacDonnell Range Holiday Park is the most awarded park in the Northern Territory, famous for our Sunday morning pancake breakfasts! Situated at the foothills of the magnificent MacDonnell Ranges and only 4.5kms from the CBD, our park offers a quiet, relaxing holiday and an experience that only the unique centre of Australia has to offer. We offer year-round accommodation in a friendly atmosphere we guarantee you'll enjoy! Free Pancake breakfast every Sunday morning. April to September we offer free entertainment. Monday nights listen to our 4WD talk, Tuesday night view the night sky's with local astronomer, Thursday afternoon join us for biscuits and cheese. Bring a bottle of wine & watch the sun go down. Friday nights listen to Bush Ballads with a local singer/songwriter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park Alice Springs, Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing