We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racist pub”
Review of Uncles Tavern

Uncles Tavern
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Went to have lunch at this tavern and was treated like a second class citizen. Waited patiently in line to order my lunch. When it was my turn, the barman ignored me and took an order from a bloke who just walked up to the counter. After taking his order he then walk away to another customer down the bar and took her order. It was a humiliating experience and I spoke quite loudly and said , excuse me mate but I was first in line but again he couldn't bother to acknowledge me. Two blokes having a drink next to me was shocked too and said that's bad service. I guess if you are an Asian ( Chinese) don't expect to be treated equal. It's a white men pub. STAY CLEAR from this RACIST PUB!!!!!
I would give a no star unfortunately there's none.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Gem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclestavern s, Public Relations Manager at Uncles Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi Gem B,
First and foremost we’d like to sincerely apologise for your negative experience.
We do not tolerate racist behaviour and/or harassment in any form here at Uncles Tavern and therefore take this feedback very seriously. If you could please email us at gm@diplomatmotel.com.au with your contact details, our General Manager will reach out to you directly to discuss your experience further.

Thanks, The Uncles Tavern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived Alice Springs on the Sunday before Picnic Day and were surprised to find most restaurants were closed that evening. Uncles Tavern was the only place nearby we could find open so we kept our expectation low. The food eventually surpassed what we expected. The two dishes we ordered, grilled salmon and shrimp, were actually good. We returned to Uncles on another evening and tried the T-bone special and chicken burger. We were not disappointed. On the whole the meals were good value for money. However the restaurant seemed to be short of staff so service was quite minimal. For examples, tables were not cleared long after the patrons had left.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank FairFair_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclestavern s, Public Relations Manager at Uncles Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi FairFair_02,
Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate your honesty and will be sure to pass on your compliments to our kitchen staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We were charged 3 different prices for 3 different prices. When we commented the barmaid made a rude comment.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 649jackye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclestavern s, Public Relations Manager at Uncles Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Jacky, We're very sorry to hear you had a bad dining experience and would like to offer our sincere apologies. If you don't mind, feel free to give us a call on (08) 8952 8977 as our general manager would like to discuss this further with you. Much appreciated, Uncles Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We stayed at the Diplomatic Motel and this made Uncles Tavern our "home" pub and restaurant for dinner. It was surprisingly happening and got especially crowded and Fri and Sat nights, with TVs tuned to the latest sports events. We saw a few dating couples on Sat enjoying wine and dinner. There seemed to be a reservation system, with reservation signs on long empty tables in an otherwise crowded pub. We ignored the signs once as there were no other seats. A group arrived after we started eating and they just sat down to drink and eat with no fuss. Seems quite chilled.
It was self service for ordering and collecting food and drinks. Portions were generous and I enjoyed the Caesar salad with bacon and the hamburger.
Convenient, central and good value.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Leong48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclestavern s, Public Relations Manager at Uncles Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi Leong48,
Thank you very much for the kind review, we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed everything Uncles has to offer and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We had a $12 steak, chips and salad lunch special. Food was fantastic, very friendly staff and great casual atmosphere. We've been telling everyone to go there.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mareealys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclestavern s, Public Relations Manager at Uncles Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi mareealys,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your lovely review, we really appreciate the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncles Tavern also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Uncles Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing