We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fruit muffins, Friendly staff, Great historical story and tourist info”
Review of Bark Hut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northern Territory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bark Hut Inn
Reviewed 19 July 2011

On the way to jabiru or to Cooinda.........entrance to Kakadu.Make sure you stop off and get a feel for Kakadu.Looks like several new accommodation units have been built. A great place to stop over for an hours r and r.Freshly cooked takeaways .A real outdoor frontier experience.Plan your trip to Kakadu and include a stopover at the BarkHut.

Room Tip: Only used store and rest rooms.Try the website and phone ahead if staying over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelsareourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

A lovely welcoming bunch of people working at The Bark Hut that made our stay better. Clean and comfortable cabins, a pool and a pub. Thanks for a relaxing weekend, and for a good laugh over a drink or two.
Michelle.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zamarpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

After traveling through New Zealand, Australia, and Borneo for three and a half months, my husband and I agreed without a question that The Bark Hut Inn was the worst place we had stayed in, and probably the worst of our whole lives. And we once stayed someplace in India where our shower and tub consisted of a paint bucket. The room was essentially a metal container with windows sawn in. The bed was ancient and musty smelling with seriously dodgy linens, and the old, dusty, foul-looking air conditioner pumped out either freezing cold air or nothing. The ceiling was covered in cobwebs and dead bugs, and a busy spider spent all evening dropping bug corpses on my husband's face. The bathroom block was a bonanza for wildlife fans, with a startling array of frogs, lizards, and moths as well as a cloud of insects around each sink that I thought would snatch the toothpaste right out of my hands, so plentiful and aggressive were they. And here's the thing: I'm not a princess. All that I'm describing would have been chalked up to fodder for amusing stories, only they were charging *$70 AUD* for it, making it hands down the worst value for money of my entire long traveling life. When I think about paying that much for such a dump, it makes me want to go back and light the place on fire, not that it would do more than scorch the metal containers they call rooms. If you're on your way to Kakadu definitely stop, have a cold drink, and observe the horror for yourself. But for God's sake don't stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleanfreak5, Owner at Bark Hut Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Well, in 2009 you were probably right! however, we took over The Bark Hut in October 2009, and set to work fixing the whole place. !2 months on, we think The Bark Hut is flying!! Brand new ensuited cabins overlooking the pool, all budget rooms have new air cons, linen, flooring etc and the toilet blocks have been completely re-fitted from top to bottom. The staff are all friendly and helpfull, the beers cold and the food is awesome. All major bus and tour companies have come back to Bark Hut and the whole park is being landscaped and trimmed and is really looking great. Stop in alright, and have a look for yourself!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed for 10 nights in one of the dongas.
Room was small with double bed.
Airconditioner above window, shelves in room corner. Single power point.

Room wasn't serviced nor cleaned during stay.

Shared ablutions - strongly recommend shower sandals.

Restaurant serves ok food - depends on the kitchen staff at the time.
Staff mostly itinerant backpackers - service variable.

Drinks, chocolates and souvenirs only in shop.
Pay phone and petrol available.
No mobile coverage.
Pool was very dirty for period of stay.

Appears that the Bark Hut Inn was quite good in its day, but is quite run down currently.
Is the closest shop to the nearby Mt Bundey Military Training Area, so large amounts of Army personnel transit through periodically.

Was a rumour that there will be a management change in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Dont listen to the other guy, he is obviously soft.
I stayed here for two nights, I was out there for a fishing trip. This was the nearest place.
The staff were great, really friendly. I stayed accross the firday and saturday night, and had a great time to be honest.
Yes, its a little rough, but for the money, can you expect more? The shipping containers were not dirty infact, and not full of insects. Gekko (small lizards) yes, but no insects mate. ghekkos will not hurt you...lol. If you enjoy camping, or dont mind roughing it, and need a place to rest, then go Here. The kakadu resort is just down the road, but it cost you 3 times as much.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanaka666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bark Hut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bark Hut Inn

Address: Arnhem Highway | Annaburroo, Northern Territory NT 0886, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 182 Speciality Lodging in Northern Territory
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Bark Hut Hotel Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing