We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely best place to stay for kapooka march outs”
Review of Astor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astor Inn
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely best place to stay for kapooka march outs”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is not widely known until you get to Wagga but the recruits have a 'zone' that they are not allowed to travel outside of. If your hotel is outside of this then quite literally you have to spend your visitation on the street rather than relax in a hotel room. We were delighted with the accommodation, it is the closest motel to where the recruits are dropped off and picked up. The motel was certainly clean and serviceable with extremely friendly staff. Mention kapooka and you receive a 10 % discount on already very reasonable rates. The absolute best hotel for march outs.

Room Tip: They have different types so whatever suits your situation. We were up the top with 2 bedrooms. No i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 0freespirit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
15
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here to attend a loved one's march out ceremony . Staff and management are wonderful and very friendly, it is very affordable and with great facilities. The Astor Inn is within walking distance to the local town, close to all the food places and most importantly, was very close to where recruits are dropped off for town visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Astor when in Wagga Wagga. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves good food and the bar is well stocked. The staff are always friendly. Be sure to book ahead as the Astor is very popular and always busy. They also have onsite and offsite parking and offer a buffet breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I think this establishment would be better termed a "hotel with motel accommodation".

I stayed two nights last weekend while in town for a function. I had stayed at the Astor back in the 70's and vowed never to return due to a couple of reasons and the noise from the highway. The motel has been renovated since and as my friends usually stay there, I decided it was time to return.

The motel is built around a tight courtyard which the rooms face into so traffic noise was not an issue. In fact I only heard the brakes from a couple of trucks as they pulled up at the lights outside.

The rooms are small but at the price you pay here, more than adequate. They were a little dark but a light above the desk made it quite functional. The bathroom is old and I found the high step of the bath to access the shower in the bath difficult. The split air-conditioning was individually controlled but the temperature range was from 21 to 24 degrees only so for me, it got a bit cold after a while. However, it became stuffy if turned off on the warm days I was there (34 one day). I had a king double bed in the room which was two beds pushed together. Unfortunately one of the beds used was soft and uncomfortable and the "divide" between them a big lump to avoid.

I found the $9.50 continental breakfast more than adequate in the restaurant. Also dinner one of the nights was very tasty and I loved the salad bar and veggie bars which you could use to complement your choice of meal. The staff were most friendly and a credit to the motel.

My major issue and a pet hate was inadequate off road parking for guests. While they did mention you could park in the funeral business overnight across the road, I chose, like many others, to park in the street. I resent having to leave my car out of sight and in an unsecure place at motels. The parking places were so tight that passengers had to get out before you parked and panel damage almost inevitable.

I would consider returning again but probably not with my family who did not accompany me on this occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the highway side. Some "standard" rooms are of a different configu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offshore956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed at the Astor for 2 nights last week (for the Kapooka march out, which if mentioned gets you a 10% discount which is the cost of continental breakfast), I was a little surprised at how small the room was, but as I was travelling solo, it was ok- but for couples it would have been a squeeze, the shower was difficult to get into as the toilet hampered opening the shower door. I had trouble with the tv and aircon (had to get help with both, but the next day had same problem but I couldn't be bothered getting the girl to come again, although she was very pleasant) On the second morning thought I'd try breakfast, which was quite adequate for me but the coffee and the urn were both tepid, and as breakfast started at 6.30am and it was 8.30am when I was there, I thought it was a bit lax, ended up buying coffee down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wagga Wagga hotels
0.8 km away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#2 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
4.7 km away
Quality Inn Carriage House
Quality Inn Carriage House
#11 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.8 km away
Comfort Inn Prince of Wales
Comfort Inn Prince of Wales
#13 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Club Motel and Apartments
The Club Motel and Apartments
#18 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 km away
Townhouse International
Townhouse International
#14 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Charles Sturt Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Inn

Property: Astor Inn
Address: 104 Edward St, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Wagga Wagga
Price range (per night): $115 - $119
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Astor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Inn Wagga Wagga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing