We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty treats, tiny place”

Bourke Street Bakery
Ranked #2 of 109 Bakeries in Sydney
Price range: AU$8 - AU$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I came here for a late lunch with a friend. It's a very small place with only three small tables up front, and what seems like a never-ending queue. No worries though, as many people opt for take-away. We had pies and a small ginger-creme brûlée tart. The pies are diverse - mine was chicken with sweet potato and peas, as are the desserts. Coffee was good. Service was friendly and efficient. It's very popular, so I'd give it a go.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Had the Cranky and the crossaints with two lattes, HAPPY!

It is tiny but they seem to cram everyone in comfortably enough.. It's worth it!

Maybe in winter be dressed warm enough to sit outside

May go back for seconds the pork and Fennell smells amazing!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

This is a boutique bakery in parramatta! The bread is fresh and different sourdough flavours are baked on certain days so it's super fresh!!

Sausage rolls were a winner with my 4 yo who declared them delish and requested them daily on our visit!

Winner for me was the white chocolate and passion fruit merengue- do I need to say more! Just get one and thank me later!!!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Bianca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2016

First time at this famous bakery. Certainly lived up to the hype. The queue was large but moved fairly quickly. Had a standard meat pie with no bells and whistles and it was outstanding. Just the right amount of pastry and really flavoursome meat.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sydneyacademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

went on a sat morning after shopping at the surry hill market (flea market held on 1st Saturday of every month). crowded but fast service. we had plain croissant and roast pork sandwich. the croissant was crispy yet soft and the sandwich is supercilious. they served good coffee as well. highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank tifyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bourke Street Bakery also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bourke Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.