We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tarts”

Bourke Street Bakery
Ranked #2 of 110 Bakeries in Sydney
Price range: AU$7 - AU$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We visited Bourke Street Bakery in October 2012. Great tarts of several different kinds including the chocolate tarts and the ginger brûlée tarts. They also do great breads. We stocked up the freezer for our week in Sydney to have bread each morning as we were too lazy to go out looking for a bakery in Bondi.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swedish_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 365 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

This place is not just good: it's great by any standards. We live in Paris part of the year and after boasting about Bourke St Bakery to our friendly local patissier, we decided to treat him to some apple galette. He was suitably impressed and complimented the pastry after 24 hours in the hold! Now, to add to their offerings, Bourke St Bakery in Potts Point is open at night. We've already been and sampled the delicious shin beef, large enough for many and priced to share, and many of the salads. We couldn't believe the freshness, the flavour and the value. Don't take my word for it: go and sit under the plane trees in Macleay St and imagine you're in Paris. If the plane trees don't do it for you, the food and the pastry certainly will - and you save the price of a ticket.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My cousin brought my family and i to Bourke Street Bakery during our trip to Sydney as recommended by friend.
The first impression is the Q but their order taking was quite fast which is good.

Menu:
like: ginger pistachio tart & croissant
dislike: the lemon tart( it is not set and strong egg taste)

Pro's: varieties tarts and pastries,quite fast service, location.

Con's: it is not child friendly, no indoor sitting.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cinta_alamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a delightful little German Bakery, in Bourke Street. They have a baker starting at 6am backing tradional German bread and rolls,and French style croissants, they have some great cakes and even freshly baked Pretzels.

The service is very friendly, they are young,trendy mostly German expats so if you did some German at school go in and practice with them, they have a good laugh at some of the things I say, I really don't know what I'm saying most of the time especially when the tattooed clad young owner is behind the counter, I'm lucky to put a sentence together through my drooling. Seriously though all the staff are lovely. The food is fresh and very tasty, and they make a lovely coffee. This little stop at the Bäckerei makes the trip there worthwhile.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank AmbassadorBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Wanting to take friends in Melbourne something special from Sydney, we recently purchased one of our favorites. a soy and linseed loaf. It didn't survive the trip. We of course scoffed the entire thing ourselves. Burke Street Bakery can make you behave badly like that. Ah well, at least the thought was there.

Next time we'll take a copy of the Burke Street Bakery Cookbook for our friends :)

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bourke Street Bakery also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bourke Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.