We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a reason for the big queue every day...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mamak

Mamak
Ranked #31 of 5,833 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 13
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“There's a reason for the big queue every day...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

There's quite a few malaysian eateries in sydney but this has got to be the best. Roti cani is the signature dish but my favourite is the lamb curry, best i've had. Fish curry is also very good. If you only eat at one place in chinatown this HAS to be it.

Helpful?
Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    467
    110
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is just an average Malaysian restaurant. I'm not sure what all the fuss is about - go early because it gets busy. My vegetarian mee goreng lacked flavour.

Helpful?
Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OMG love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Great food, great atmosphere, Love it! I come here all the time with my family and friends if we are in the mood for some great Malaysian food. Reasonable prices too!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan92W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food and Service lacked Promise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Went with a friend before a show at the Entertainment Centre and we queued for 30 minutes, hoping for a good meal
Did not understand the wait because half the tables were empty. The curried chicken was all bones and after three attempts got it sent back and replaced.

There was a severe communication gap between me and the staff, as their ENglish was poor, but that is no excuse for a bowl of bones.

I would hesitate returning since we were disappointed with the eventual chicken that graced our table. But it's your choice as the crowds outside kept lining up and the restaurant packs in the diners( even though half full).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Everything was AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The only gripe you might have is about how long you have to wait for a table, but since we went in the middle of the afternoon on a Saturday, we were seated right away. We drove by once around dinner time and there was really long line, so pick your battle. We had plain roti, and we didn't really know what this was but it was so much fun to eat even though it's just a type of bread. We also had chicken skewers (small size) which came with 6 skewers, a sauce and little pieces of cucumber on the side, and it was delicious!! Best I've had yet, and the peanuty sauce makes everything taste good, even the cucumbers which I generally dislike. We also had a spicy shrimp dish, which was good but just too spicy for me to really enjoy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCake1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamak also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing