We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, friendly service, great value - just ask for earplugs”
Review of Annam Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Annam Apartments
Ranked #105 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely room, friendly service, great value - just ask for earplugs”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I only chose Annam apartments because for the period I was staying in Sydney for a conference (5 days), it was literally the last hotel left with a room in my allowed budget ($100 - $200 per night), and within walking distance of the CBD.
After reading the other reviews on this site, I was not looking forward to my stay!

However, my stay there was so pleasant and convenient that I wanted to write this (my first) tripadvisor review. Provided the rates continue to offer excellent value, it will probably be my first choice when I next visit Sydney.

The Good
- Rooms are pleasingly modern, well-appointed and furnished
- The manager (Adam) was friendly, courteous, and accommodating
- Pleasant 20min walk to the city
- Great cafe ('Uliveto') around the corner (which I visited on Adam's recommendation)
- Free, fast and flawless wi-fi, which was very much appreciated

The Bad
- The noise levels at certain times: road noise during peak times and in the evenings, and the shouts of revellers leaving nearby pubs late on Fri & Sat nights. However: After my first night, I asked for earplugs from reception, and the rest of my nights I slept very soundly. Honestly, I believe that wearing earplugs completely negates this 'bad' point.

Overall:
A hidden gem that many people will pass over because of the noise. Ask reception for earplugs, and you'll have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_McNoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    49
    19
    9
    10
See reviews for
11
62
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I have to concur with the previous reviewers, this place is truly the pits!
Same deal, electrical issues which went unresolved the whole time.
Internet is slower than dial up.
Rooms are incredibly noisy at ant time of day, but especially at night with all the yobbos from the cross and all the cab drivers honking - there is simply no chance of sleep.
Intrusive and downright rude staff, especially the "manager"
Dont bother calling the emergency number if your key stops working, they wont answer and will just leave you on the street in the middle of the night! We had to book another more expensive room for the night because we couldnt access the hotel.
This place is a disgrace!
AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woodstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Firstly its soo loud you can hear everything down the street, its horrible my partner didnt sleep at all I got sleep but was cranky and very unsettled the whole time I was there. The lights kept breaking every day we had showers in the dark. The next morning the toaster was broken. The maintenance guy walked in and let himself in the room while I was still there alone. I called the front desk to let them know the problem is the whole switch board as the kettle wouldn't work either. I asked if I could move into another room and he said no chance and the only option was to check out.. without any apologies for the ongoing issues ( I even bought my own light globes to fix the bathroom after the emergency line wasn't answered at night when it broke) I was treated with no respect and called 'darling' and it seemed it was a hassle for them to have me stay the whole week when really it was a hassle for me to deal with the ongoing issues of the apartment and disgraceful management. I am appalled by the conditions and the staff even the management was rude and unhelpful. It is a scam and a joke. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydneycbd333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

The quality of the rooms is decent and even the studio that I stayed in was pretty spacious. Basic amenities are included. The only concern as mentioned by other travelers is that the hotel is located at a very busy crossroads and does not seem to have any sound insulation. As a result, when someone walks past and is speaking it seems as if you are next to them downstairs rather than in your room. The traffic noise is pretty disturbing as well. I wouls suggest taking this room if you get at least a 30% discount off their advertised price and can prenegotiate a higher floor, at least 3rd floor. Also, for some reason it took me over an hour to get a taxi! Internet quality was poor.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wasimmehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I found these apartments online on a discount site, and picked up a cheap deal to stay for a week. At the discount rate, I feel as though I got a great bargain and have no complaints.
Having lived in Sydney before, I was aware that Potts Point *IS* Kings Cross, so I was aware I would be staying in the middle of a busy area. My spacious studio was on the top (5th?) floor, and I had no trouble whatsoever with noise. I have stayed at far noisier and more expensive hotels in Sydney. In fact, given the location, one block behind "the Coke sign", I felt that it was relatively quiet.
There is a great cafe around the corner for breakfast, and KC station is about 3 minutes walk away. Given that I had commitments in both directions (in Sydney's beaches, the CBD and in the inner west) this proved to be the perfect location for me.
Unlike previous reviewers, I found the wireless internet to be faultless and an appreciated free service.
Kitchen facilities were great and well appointed although seldom used by me. Bathroom was equally good and the washing machine much appreciated.
The staff were friendly and helpful, without being intrusive.
If I could pick up a cheap deal again I would definitely stay here. I would probably request to have a room on one of the higher floors again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#103 of 178 in Sydney
30 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#146 of 178 in Sydney
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
1,770 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annam Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annam Apartments

Property: Annam Apartments
Address: 21 Ward Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#84 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $113 - $180
Hotel Class:4 star — Annam Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annam Suites buildings are a fresh alternative to traditional serviced apartments, reflecting a contemporary lifestyle at unbeatable value. Annam Suites properties are designed to provide both a dynamic living space and a unique experience whether you are a business or holliday traveler. Annam Suites offers you serviced apartments and the best rate for extended stays, corporate relocations, conferences, trade shows in sydney, family holidays. Business travelers and arm forces are welcome. Whether you are relocating to a new country, on an international assignment, traveling for business or simply taking a vacation with family and friends, it is your fond memories of a successful stay that we aim to deliver. Secrets of success encompass the balanced combination of physical space to work and live, personalised services and the living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Annam Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annam Apartments Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing