We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visit - another great success.”

Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers
Ranked #4 of 199 Shopping in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Free Opal Cutting Tour and Lesson. Australian Opal Cutters is a family owned, third generation gem company. We source precious Australian Opals directly from the mines and sell directly to you, so you can get the best value. Rarity, Affordability and Value. This is who we are.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I have had dealings with AOC before and I was very happy with the experience. Once again I visited the showroom and was warmly welcomed by Maria. As with all the staff I have encountered, she was well informed, friendly and above all - patient! I purchased two opal rings and they resized them for me while I had lunch. That was great service. I have been extremely happy with all aspects of each of my visits to AOC i.e the staff, quality of the opals and the service. I thoroughly recommend this business. Jennifer from Newcastle

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank jenniferbeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Director of Sales at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear jenniferbeatty

Thank you for the review. We try to show how valuable and rare the Opals are and we are happy when help create lasting memories with our customers. We hope you become our friends by the end of your visit and we hope you return back to us when you are next in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beautiful pearls"
in 9 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 7 reviews
"ear rings"
in 5 reviews
"iventure card"
in 7 reviews
"pitt street"
in 6 reviews
"interesting place"
in 5 reviews
"earrings"
in 52 reviews
"marjan"
in 28 reviews
"shop"
in 69 reviews
"stone"
in 43 reviews
"salesperson"
in 9 reviews
"aoc"
in 6 reviews
"priscilla"
in 6 reviews
"showroom"
in 5 reviews
"gifts"
in 13 reviews
"jewellers"
in 11 reviews
"gems"
in 11 reviews
Filter

177 - 181 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We were interested in rings. We were shown a wide selection and given plenty of time to look at each one. We never felt pressured. We purchased an opal ring and are very satisfied. They sized the ring in about 3 hours. We walked around downtown and came back and it was ready. Since we were not Australian citizens they gave us all the information that was needed to get the tax back when we went through customs at the airport.

Date of experience: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank keithbL1720EI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Director of Sales at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Keithbl1720ei

Thank you very much for your review we really appreciate it , im also happy that you see our exceptional customer services at hand . We hope to see you again when you are next back in Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Ordered a set to be made of a bracelet and necklace. ....absolutely beautiful. ..excellent customer service..fantastic products

Date of experience: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank chris1509travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Director of Sales at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear chris1509travelling

Thank you for the review, it means a lot to us. I am glad you are happy with your choice. We hope to hear from you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Beautiful selection of opals all sizes and all colours. Would recommend these to everyone. Totally enjoyed our visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank valerie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Director of Sales at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Valerie

We appreciate your feedback. We promise to be here for your next trip to Sydney!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

After doing research on the best place to buy opals in Sydney I decided upon Australian Opal Cutters. It is off the tourist trap, no fancy marketing, a strange shop on the 3rd floor of a building with top security to get in and out and therefore not paying premium rates to cover the cost of the premises! Expert knowledge, a huge selection of beautiful opals and felt happy with the quality and authenticity of the opal pendant that I purchased. Added bonus was a pair of pearl earrings as a gift and a nice bottle of red wine. Would recommend.

Date of experience: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Director of Sales at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear c0rky42

Thank you for the review. We try to show how valuable and rare the Opals are and we are happy when help create lasting memories with our customers. We hope you become our friends by the end of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing