We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Very pleasant and informative experience.

We arrived at the location via Google Maps. The entrance was a little hard to spot and we weren't... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 days ago
Venture18335086177
Great Quality Opal Earrings, Very Warm & Professional Advice

I spent many hours looking for a place to buy top quality real opal earrings for my wife back in... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
kozlowskir
,
Lac-Brome, Canada
Read all 513 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sydney
from USD 141.22
More Info
from USD 28.97
More Info
from USD 112.25
More Info
Sydney BridgeClimb
1,783 Reviews
from USD 121.67
More Info
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
417
75
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
75
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful pearls no pressure to buy ear rings iventure card pitt street interesting place earrings marjan shop stone salesperson aoc priscilla showroom gifts jewellers gems
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Competent people and also very lovely. Even if you are just there to have a look around, everyone's very helpful and there to make you have a good experience. Defenitely worth stopping there! :)

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Director of Sales at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hello Sandra P


Thank you very much for your review we hope to see you again when you are next in Sydney .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

I found the store thanks to the map from "I'm free tour". We had pearl earrings for free with information about australian opal! Nice welcoming as well!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Marie-Hélène B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Director of Sales at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hello Marie - Helene B


Thank you very much for your review we hope to see you again when you are next in Sydney .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

As tourists we did not want to get ripped off buying opal in Australia. We did not have any frame of reference for price & quality. So tripadvisor reviews were our main reason for selecting this place as we did not get much help from the locals we met on this front.

In their favour, they were patient, explained concepts behind quality of opals and had good stock of all categories of opals. We ended up buying quite a lot at the end.

The fact that they seem to largely cater to tourists probably means we are paying some premium however I guess its better than getting ropped off.

The only issue we had was with the time they opened. We went on the Saturday on the Easter weekend. As per leaflets & web site they open at 9 am & we went around that & realised that we were not the only one who came at 9 am and had to wait till 10 am for them to open.

They are also very focused about their tripadvisor rating as they probably get a lot tourists based on TA reviews as I got quite a few reminders for TA review.

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Shibac701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonAOC, General Manager at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Shibac701,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and decided to choose us out of everyone else. Yes it is true that most of our customer base are tourist and therefore we rely on TA. Our sales team are there to inform and advise all our customers about opals/pearls to ensure that all our customers walk out of our store 100% satisfied. We stock almost every type of opal you can think of and we can also custom make any jewellery with any loose opal/pearls of your choice. We are sorry to hear that you had to wait until 10am on easter saturday. We will try harder in the future to communicate the times we open and close on public holidays. We hope to see you again in our store soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017


Received free pair of pearl ear rings - nice item for a classic look.
Not often you get something for nothing.
Thanks

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Z8808PZcathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonAOC, General Manager at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Cathyd,
We thank you for your review. Yes we are giving away free pearl earrings as part of our current promotion. All you need is to bring one of our distributed free pearl vouchers into our store to claim them! We hope to see you again in our store soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We found an offer on pearls on a discount booklet and thought they would be a lovely gift for my sister who is getting married this year. We found the journey to get to the shop very unusual. We had to go in a lift to a messy hallway and buzz into a shop named Australian Opal Cutters, which had a metal gate at the front. The reception was not that welcoming as we were asked why we were visiting before we were let into the shop. It was not set up like a 'normal' jewellery shop. Not many products on display.
The member of staff who attended us was friendly and allowed us to view and choose the pearls we had arrived for. There was the opportunity to purchase more products if required, however we did not feel it was necessary at this time.
Thank you for the offer on the pearls. It was a very good offer. I just feel a more reception and a general tidy of the area may allow you to obtain more custom. I am aware that security is important, but it also makes the journey to the shop very unwelcoming.

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank jennahutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonAOC, General Manager at Australian Opal Cutters and Pearl Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Jenna Hutch,
We thank you for your review here at Australian Opal Cutters & Pearl Divers. We are located on the 3rd floor in a discreet location to allow for a more personal experience for our customers. Our store is uniquely decorated with opal cutting equipment and antique equipment. We have barred doors for our safety (since we hold expensive items in store afterall!). We have vouchers for free pearl earrings across Sydney in discount books and travel guides. All you need to do is come to our store and present the voucher to claim your free pearl earrings. We hope to see you in our store again soon Jenna :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews