We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Black Star Keeps Rising”
Review of Black Star Pastry

Black Star Pastry
Ranked #8 of 51 Bakeries in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My Black Star Keeps Rising”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Words are not enough, my sixth visit still has me astounded. Fantastical pastry, grand coffee and superlative service. I'm in love

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank michaelcourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My usual Sunday lunch ritual”
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I'm a local to this place, and you'll often catch me here for my customary Sunday lunch - grabbing a coffee or chai latte and one of their famous chicken sandwiches (if they've got any left).

If you're anything like me, you'll miss the chicken sambos every once in a while so look above the cabinet and behind the counter, to the pie warmer that begs your attention. You're forgiven for getting both a pie and a sausage roll, because if you like pastry, you'll need to try both.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rustic, Wholesome and Rich food”
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Perfect place to catch up but weekend brunches can be busy and crowded! Definitely worthwhile to try the homemade pies and its Signature Strawberry Watermelon Cake!

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Magdalene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yummy pastries!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Lots of very yummy pastries and cakes, albeit a little on the expensive side but definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank np-lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go the Betty !”
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Most fresh, clean, and delicious quiches you can get in Sydney's east - I'm stuck on the Betty as I'm a sucker for the goats cheese.

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank FanWaWoollybutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Star Pastry also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Black Star Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing