We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice bitten”
Review of Black Star Pastry

Black Star Pastry
Ranked #8 of 51 Bakeries in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Twice bitten”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

I've been in town for a week, been to Black Star 3 times in 7 days, it's THAT good!
The coffee is amazing, the barista more amazing. The cakes and pastries - you need to try the Watermelon Cake! - the lunch offer is incredible, Mushroom Toasty I Love You!
My first visit, and intro, was with a bud, now besty. My second visit was with a special bud, now a very special bud and instigator of my 3rd visit.
If you're in on the weekend and see the queue as a problem, get over yourself, it's well worth the wait!!
Clue: the Cherry Fruitbread is amazing, the dough dough is beyond good! I have nothing but good things to say about Black Star!!

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank michaelcourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

We had a first class lamb pie each followed by cakes: Orange with lemon cheese icing and Iranian date and black sesame chiffon cake. Beautiful.

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank PhilipJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

The food served at Black Star was just delicious ....
The "Watermelon Torte" and quiches are home made and memorable...
I would definitely go back ..

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank GaryDaniels50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Should be a lot better”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Decent place with an alright menu. Typical lazy approach to service though: Queue to order, get your own cutlery, get your own water. All with a price that deserves decent table service. Staff need training too!!!

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank Henry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice little bakery”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Awesome location as it's near my place. They make very nice cakes especially their signature watermelon cakes. Their pastries are nice as long as you buy them in the morning. Coffee is generally good though a little inconsistent once in a while.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Star Pastry also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Black Star Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing