We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much of a good thing”
Review of Aria Restaurant

Aria Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 6,902 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 40 - USD 148
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: A synergy of many elements, in an unrivalled harbourside location, Aria is one of Australia’s finest restaurants. Aria brings together the vision of owners Matt Moran and Bruce Solomon, the creativity of Executive Chef Joel Bickford, the best seasonal produce and a world-class wine list in a stunning, art-filled space with sweeping Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge views. Unmistakably Australian. Quintessentially Sydney. Welcome to Aria.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Excellent food, wonderful cocktails but the tasting menu is definitely too much for one person so I recommend to take the three or four course menu. Surprisingly very few australian wines in the pairing which is definitely not understandable and a disadvantage compared to the quite mediocre european wines they offered. But nevertheless it was a wonderful evening with a very nice service.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solotel M, Manager at Aria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Thomas,

Thank you so much for dining with us. We're so happy enjoyed your meal with us (even if it was more filling than you anticipated.) Thank you for the note about the wines. We will certainly pass along your feedback to our Sommeliers. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 180 of 2,501 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Beautifully designed space, modern and elegant but still comfortable and cozy, with an incredible view over the Sydney opera. Aria is an upscale restaurant, offering very fine cuisine, but unlike many counterparts in that category who tend to be stiff, Aria instead makes you feel relaxed. We opted for the three course meal, and chose different appetizers and mains, we were all very happy with our choices. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to spend a special evening.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wanna-Vaycay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solotel M, Manager at Aria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and relaxed when they dine with us and we're so glad you felt that. We hope you will come back and dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Having had lunch at Aria with customers several years ago, I already knew the fantastic food was a given. However, taking my wife for pre-opera dinner to celebrate our anniversary, took our appreciation for the place to a complete different level!

Their service was timed and paced with just exactly the right mix of promptness to allow us to get to our event on time but without making us feel rushed, even allowing us to indulge in our delicious desserts, delicately decorated for our special ocasion... Without charging us extra for that!

Looking forward to come back, soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 288bernieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solotel M, Manager at Aria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Bernie,

Thank you so much for dining with us and for your kind review. We are so glad we could welcome you back and help you celebrate your anniversary before the opera. We know that dining pre-theatre can be stressful with timing and our team are very conscious to let our guests have the complete experience without being rushed, yet still be on time for their show. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We chose ARIA for our pre-theatre dinner and were delighted with the experience. The staff were warm and friendly, ensuring our courses were served promptly but without feeling rushed. The food was fresh and beautifully presented. Pick of the dishes was the Valrhona chocolate, salted caramel sphere, hazelnut; simply one of the most delicious desserts I've had.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solotel M, Manager at Aria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Michael,

Thank you for dining with us . We know that dining pre-theatre can be stressful with the time constraint, but we do our best to ensure that our guests still receive an excellent dining experience and never feel rushed. The Valrhona chocolate sphere is definitely a staff and customer favourite. So glad you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This was my third visit to Aria but the first for my wife. It was a Saturday lunchtime and we had a babysitter for a change so I wanted to treat my wife and she really wanted to visit Aria.

My work allows me to visit some exceptional restaurants on a regular basis so I feel I know the Sydney scene quite well.

Service at Aria is exceptional, from entering, to being seated in fact the entire experience is excellent. When you first enter and are seated the view hits you, arguably the best of any restaurant in the city bar ‘Cafe Sydney’. Then you start to look around and the internal decor is starting to look dated, it may be time for a freshen up.

We decided to go across four course but only having two courses, one shared entree, two mains and a single desert. We were matching wines by the glass and the wine selection is fabulous. Our Entree was the kingfish with pink peppercorns, fish cooked perfectly but the dish was bland, no real taste, I was shocked, my wife wasn’t impressed. For main we had the beef rib special, again cooked perfectly but the beef was very fatty, the mushrooms didn’t add anything to the dish at all. Mashed potato was outstanding but the green leaf salad leaves with plum sauce added some texture but again did nothing to add to the dish overall.

Desert came home strong, who doesn’t like chocolate and salted caramel, paired with a Canadian Icewine it was stunning.

Overall the experience was good but not great and when it’s a treat or a special event you expect a restaurant with the reputation of Aria to knock it out of the park. As we left I asked my wife if she would go back or rate Aria highly and she said ‘good but not great’ so that about sums it up.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jazyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solotel M, Manager at Aria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We pride ourselves on having world-class service and we're happy to hear you agree. We love creating exceptional experiences for our guests and taking care of every detail from the moment they walk in.

It's unfortunate to hear that the four courses you had did not live up to your expectations. We take guest feedback seriously and will certainly pass this along to our team for consideration. We do change our menu seasonally and hope you will consider dining with us again with our next menu update.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aria Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Aria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing